REWARD HACKING

in LOGICZOMBIE4 years ago

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

When I was a child, I noticed adults and especially grandparents seemed to place a high value on "childhood memories".

So, I began to collect mementos from my childhood, not because I thought they were "special", but rather because I anticipated being nostalgic for them later in life.

At certain points throughout my adult life, I've revisited these mementos and failed to muster any nostalgia, I sort of weighed the potential pros of keeping these items (increasingly unlikely future nostalgia) against the inconvenience of storing and periodically moving (and explaining) these items.

Over time, they've either been lost or thrown away now, and only now, many years later, do I feel nostalgic for them.

But it's my sense of loss itself, my memory of the items, that actually seems sweet.

When I examined the items, they didn't "spark joy" so-to-speak, at least not in the moment.

And I know when I forget them, I will not miss them.

But I don't look forward to forgetting them.

THESE ARE MY THOUGHTS ON REWARD HACKING.

Why do I post at all?

REWARD HACKING

What am I hacking for?

INTELLIGENT CIVIL CONVERSATION

Click to watch 9 minutes,

SHOULD YOU TRY SOMETHING NEW?

Click to watch 13 minutes,

CAN AN IDIOT EFFECTIVELY SUPERVISE A GENIUS?

Click to watch 16 minutes,

Perhaps anarchy already exists and "THE COMMUNITY" is merely the highest manifestation of organized crime. – special thanks to @thoughts-in-time

Essential HIVE links,
https://hive.vote/
https://beeme.icu/?account=logiczombie
https://hiveblocks.com/@logiczombie

Copyright notice: Feel free to copy and paste any LOGICZOMBIE original content (posts and or comments and or replies and logiczombie logo, excluding quoted 3rd party content of course) according to copyleft principles.

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  

Will watch the videos over the next day or so as time permits.

Thoughts on when you say

So, I began to collect mementos from my childhood, not because I thought they were "special", but rather because I anticipated being nostalgic for them later in life.

At certain points throughout my adult life, I've revisited these mementos and failed to muster any nostalgia

This is a perfect example of the saying you can't return home. It's one of, if not close to being one of the predominant causes of sadness for many. As we journey through the intensities of time, whatever blessings we encounter are fleeting. Whether it be with people, objects or geography, whatever in those moments shined bright as it made our heart sing pass away like the leaves from a tree in the fall.

Life (motion) demands that change rush past us as we view these things passing by so quickly. Left with a memory of what was, of whatever comfort and joy used to exist in that place. Whatever love might have been untarnished by the harsh realities that demanded movement.

I believe this is part of the cause for the stories you hear of people (this isn't the norm like when I was a child) who worked 30+ years at the same place. Spending more time there with those people than they did with their own families. Forced to retire, they die within months to a year. I always wondered what role the loss of what they had grown to love (structured patterns, relationships with coworkers, being SEEN for competence in a way not afforded in everyday living etc) contributed.

Loss is a very real thing, its impact real whether it creeps up slow on a person or fast.

But it's my sense of loss itself, my memory of the items, that actually seems sweet.

The loss is real, but alas, that person seems almost like another as time has swept them away. They say ignorance is bliss, but I believe its better said as innocence is bliss.

Thanks for sharing. As I've entered the winter of my life this topic has gained much significance.

They say ignorance is bliss, but I believe its better said as innocence is bliss.

Bliss can also stem from comprehensive understanding and acceptance.

The more I learn about the "problems" of AI, the better I understand the "problems" of human motivation (e-motion).

The more I learn about the "problems" of AI, the better I understand the "problems" of human motivation (e-motion).

An interesting view. I've always held a bit of fear towards AI, imagining the worst traits of humanity in a system that can function faster than humanity. A reflection of what was created. I watched the first video (although I need to watch it again to understand better). Loved reading through the comments, which is one of my favorite pastimes. In the video, he has on the screen a saying

General AI won't want you to fix its code

It reminded me of this scene from Star Trek I watched as a child.

I remember using the mario cheat on the stairs. Unlimited lives (not really, if you were to greedy game was over first time you died) bouncing that turtle on the stairs. Laughed when he talked of using the cheats on a Mario game.

Adversarial Reward Functions. This one made me laugh. You see this everywhere, even on this blockchain. When I was self publishing, you saw it with people exploiting shortcomings on the sales platforms (Kindle, Nook etc) and with webmasters back when they were creating all those crappy backlinks. Not sure how one could make the reward system capable of self defense as those on the losing end would surely feel (perhaps justifiably) that the powerful programmers predetermined the winners of the reward while feigning it was beyond their control, it was simply code.

Much to think about, and haven't seen the other videos nor read the 29 page PDF Concrete Problems in AI Safety yet. Much of this might be above my understanding as I've shied away from AI topics out of a fear of AI.

Loading...

 4 years ago (edited) 

My blog is evidence of exactly that. I may not keep everything from my childhood but my rule of thumb is to at least take a photo of it and upload it to Hive if nothing else. I believe that the process of blogging helps me figure things out about myself whether that includes actual nostalgia or not. Beyond that, I feel that what I share with the world may help me and it may help others. I see it as a risk as people can get mad at me for posting things that some can argue I have no right to share. I would disagree but I don't care either way. I value the process. I treasure the process of processing life. You live life and you evaluate life. You live it, you see it, you look at it, you share it, and you get others to do the same in an endless loop.

I value the process. I treasure the process of processing life. You live life and you evaluate life. You live it, you see it, you look at it, you share it, and you get others to do the same in an endless loop.

Keep on truckin'.