THE "SELF-SUFFICIENT" MYTH

in LOGICZOMBIE4 years ago

I expect to be old with a high intelligence and the will power to be self sustaining.

What percentage of your FOOD do you grow (or forage) yourself?

SOLAR panels have a larger toxic footprint than conventional energy. LINK

I'm merely suggesting that if you wish to be "self-sustaining" in the current world, you have some major hurdles to overcome (tax-free land ownership for one, reliable food supply for two, access to healthcare for three).

I very much doubt you're going to have much time for hobbies when you become "self-sustaining", especially if you plan to live past 50.

SOLAR is a corporate lie.

The only way to be truly "self-sustaining" is to abandon electricity altogether.

Here's what "self-sufficient" looks like,

Do any of you really want to do that for the rest of your life?

SOURCE CONVO

Perhaps anarchy already exists and "THE COMMUNITY" is merely the highest manifestation of organized crime. – special thanks to @thoughts-in-time

Essential HIVE links,
https://hive.vote/
https://beeme.icu/?account=logiczombie
https://hiveblocks.com/@logiczombie

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  
Loading...

I do not agree.

The way to self-sufficiency includes electricity.
In the future much of our food will need to be grown indoors.
In a greenhouse or with grow lights.

And the way to advance is to increase the amount of calories one can grow with the minimum amount of human inputs. Or, technology. Running water, irrigation and automatic sprinklers to name the basics.

As you say, solar panels are not energy worth it unless you live below the 30° mark. In America that's the south-west deserts.

Fortunately there are much better ways to use solar and convert it to electricity.
They just aren't as simple as hooking up a photovoltaic solar panel.
They require engineering and mechanical know how.

Fortunately there are much better ways to use solar and convert it to electricity.

Yes, but don't you still require INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTS?

Unless you can make it yourself, without a factory, your "sustainability" window is only about 10 years.

Yes, i can build it myself.
From raw sheet metals.

If i have to make the sheet metals, it will take longer.

My plans should last about 100 years.
The biggest pain in the butt is bearings, but i can always go back to babbitt.

Nice. I wish I could be as confident.

I'll be lucky to last a few months in Jericho.

I hope you have enough genetic diversity to last more than 2 generations.

"We" meaning my son, his girlfriend who rent from me next door wanted to start a garden so they could can stuff...he tore the side yard up and that's about as far as it got....I eventually had to go out there and remove all the tore up sod and plant the vegetables my grand kids started in starter containers. I guess I will be doing some canning this year.

I like sweet potatoes because you can eat their leaves (very high nutritional content) so you don't have to wait for "harvest time". Also dandelion leaves are packed with vitamins, and sunflowers (because they grow like weeds).

This show (you can watch for free with no sign-up) is a good demonstration of the best possible society you could hope for without relying on ELECTRICITY.

https://tubitv.com/tv-shows/168402/s01_e01_september?start=true

I planted sweet potatoes for the first time last year but it didn't work out for me. I've tried growing potatoes to before without much luck...I got really small potatoes.

I hope I have better luck!

Today I finished putting in the grand kids tomato plants, there are 23 plants, fifteen big boy, five beef stake, three cherry and the rest roma. Yesterday and the day before I planted all their red peppers...I didn't count them but there were a lot, plus I put in brussels sprouts, green peppers, and assorted hot peppers, pickling cucumbers and all I have left is to do garlic and some squash. It's a long story but I should have known that somehow this "family" garden was going to end up being laid at my feet....I am behind on my flower beds, though I did get in sunflowers early, half my wildflower bed today and my front flower bed is planted but something keeps eating them as they come up so I had to use some dust on them today.

Is your garden providing enough food for you to survive?

Do you eat plants from your garden every day?

No I haven't gardened in years. Last year my grandson got some free tomato plants from somewhere and we planted them with a few peppers I bought, some spinach and sweet potatoes. This year it was their idea to start canning as a family project and I thought it had potential to be valuable to them in the future so I went along with it....now I feel like the story of the little red hen who did all the work then everyone wanted a piece of the pie. lol. One thing I learned from this virus pandemic is that while marking all the goods on the front so I could easily see when they expired is that canned tomatoes last a decade so when it's all said and done for I will have to calculate how many years it will be before I see a rate of return considering I usually will buy canned tomatoes when they are on sale for about fifty cents a can. Canning jars aren't cheap. I can buy sixteen or more cans of tomatoes for what it cost me to can my own, usually half pint jars are eight to ten bucks so probably more on the more side when you consider the lids, water, extra ingredients like herbs or if you want to can with some green peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.

It's not warm here year round so everyday isn't an option. I eat more fresh foods now that I live alone then when I had my two sons growing up. Back then I did have a garden but they weren't big vegetable eaters. I usually froze most of what I grew over canning. I make a medium size bowl of salad and it last me four to five meals, it's cost effective in the summer months to grow your own tomatoes if you use so many that way. Brussels sprouts are another one that is cost effective and I liked growing them because they last long past the growing season, there were many times I could still pick them off the stalk around Thanksgiving. I am not real big on pickles but my grand kids love them so making my own has an appeal that way as they also can be costly to buy....and my grand kids don't like when I am out of something "because it wasn't on sale"....lol.

The only path to FREEDOM is SELF-SUFFICIENCY (independence).

And SELF-SUFFICIENCY is the antithesis of SOCIETY (interdependence).

If each person on earth could live tax-free on their own land and grow and forage enough food to feed themselves, there would be no such thing as SOCIETY (we'd be an unaffiliated collective of hermits and family based tribes).

SOCIETY itself, and its mandatory implicit social-contract is the "problem" we need to "solve".

The key vulnerability of an unaffiliated collective of hermits and family based tribes (UCOHAFBT) is that ANY cohesive SOCIETY can overpower ANY independent individual or tribe and take their goods and force them to market their labor with either the direct threat of FORCE or by impairing their ability to feed themselves, incentivizing them to abandon their independence and instead, market their goods and labor as a member of the SOCIETY.

(IFF) you are a member of a SOCIETY (THEN) you can never be FREE.

and,

(IFF) you are FREE (THEN) you are at the mercy of ANY SOCIETY.

GLOBAL CRISIS = GLOBAL GOVERNMENT.