You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Experiment in Anarchism

in Anarchism4 years ago

No worries. I could’ve used more precise language. You made a lot of points, most of which I agree with, and I want to offer a proper response but there’s a lot there to unpack so I’d like to address it in bits if you find that acceptable.

I had two paragraphs on the concept of inherent corruption but it was taking more time and forking into more explaining than I’m prepared to sit down and commit to at the moment so I’ll get back to you when I get my thoughts in order.

Sort:  

No worries. It took me years to sort through my own prejudices and preconceptions before I accepted my current views on the State, it nature, and its purpose.

Check @badquakerdotcom's archive links post. There's a multi-part repost of Davi Barker's examination of authoritarian sociopathy delving into the psychological effects of power there.

If you recall, I began this discussion playing devil's advocate but I believe I've come to the conclusion my own prejudices and opinions are getting in my way.

The entire reason I wanted to argue on behalf of the state is to look for ways to disempower the negative impact it has in society while further empowering positive impacts, if we can agree there are any, which I’m not certain I can off the top of my head that would be any different than pointing out the benefits to fascism. If anything good can be found in it it’s seriously outweighed by its failures, thus moot.

Maybe I’ll be able to focus and weigh in on the next post. 😁