Quest for Stoken Review: Hive Integration

in SkateHivelast year

My review of the new 2D platformer game developed by The Skatehive Community, the Quest for Stoken game. It is planned to be play-to-earn with Hive integration by the end of the year.

The main character in the game is a skateboarder. It has a skateboard to roam around the place, an american flag sword and shield for attacking enemies and also for protecting yourself from any attacks.

As you click the link of the game: https://stoken.quest/
It will lead you in this loading screen page. During my first visit it was a little bit longer to load, but as I have tried it for several times it became much faster.

After the loading screen, you will be redirected in this starting screen. It is now much larger or in a full screen version. As we can see, there is a spacebar button on the lower right. I do not have idea what is that for, but my initial guess was to start the game and I was right. It is not a big deal though, but maybe they can make it more specific and visible for the first time players.

After pressing the spacebar button, it will lead you to the first level of the game. What we can see on the top portion of our screen is the lives of our character, score, and the tokens that we get throughout the video. The controls of the game were not indicated when you start. The controls were hidden in the press icon that you can see. I think it will be best to give a starting text on the center screen for the walking controls. Like press A,S,D, or left and right arrows keys to move. So that the first time players will have a gist on how to roam around the game. Then the other controls will be revealed on the press⬆️ icon.

Here are some of the summary of the controls that I found throughout the game.
We have Space bar for Jump. If you press the space bar twice you will do a double jump. The shift key is for attacking the enemies. X button is for interacting to the objects like bonfire. Z button is for shield to protect your character to the attacks.

Here is one of the enemies in the game. It usually takes two hits to kill this enemy.

Taking down enemies gives you coins or sometimes a green leaf icon that gives you an increase in health.

We also have the pigeons on the second place. They only take one hit to be killed, but they are really hard to kill. It will take a good practice and proper timing to attack this pigeons. Aside from the difficulty of killing the pigeons, I also have a hard time pressing the shift key because a dialogue box always appears when I press it several times.

As you can see in this photo, I have been taken down by the pigeon, This means the character will be back to the starting point of the second arena/ place.

We also have this elephant looking enemy. It only rotate and does not move in its position, but it deals damage when you walk through it or hit it.

This is the farthest level that I have got. I guess I still need to be more familiar with the game and enhance my skills/ reflexes to reaches to other levels.

Overall the game is good and easy to control. Especially if you are really a gamer, I am sure you will be familiar with it easily. My only suggestion is to give an introduction text at the center for the controls of moving left and right(this is just for the non gamers or first time gamers) because I am sure the gamers will easily have a gist on how to move the character which is the typical A,S,D or the arrow keys. Then the other controls will be revealed throughout the game as they explore.

Another thing that I noticed is that the bonfire can always be lit up or it resets when you get killed. This means you will get extra points or coins by interacting with it again. I'm not sure if it is a bug or made it on purpose.

Then my another suggestion is to have an option to change buttons for each task. Where you can customize what letter or button you want to make a certain action.

This is a review contest run by @ocd OCD x Stoken Contest

Sort:  
 last year  

thanks for your review. i especially like this suggestion:

Another thing that I noticed is that the bonfire can always be lit up or it resets when you get killed. This means you will get extra points or coins by interacting with it again. I'm not sure if it is a bug or made it on purpose.

thats a good suggestion along with the shift key stickeykeys fix thanks man!
and sorry to hear the game takes so long to load but the browser stores a lot of the imagery so next time it should load faster

Thank you! @web-gnar
Looking forward to the game's development. It is really cool and enjoyable.

 last year  

that animated gif you made of the controls... its really good thank you. i will include it on the website

I'm glad that you like the summary of the controls that I made. I am also thrilled for including it in the website. Thank you so much!

Wow, this game gives so much retro vibes; loved the concept so much.