The 17' Deep Vertibowl - Scariest Bowl I Ever Skated - Vintage Skateboarding

in SkateHive3 years ago (edited)

The Vertibowl at Skatepark Paramount in So Cal was one insane bowl.

vertibowl.jpg
Kevin Anderson - Photo: Glenn Miyoda

It was 17' deep with 8' of vertical.

Vertibowl-Worm-Miyoda.jpg
Kevin Anderson - Photo: Glenn Miyoda

You can't even imagine it.

Even standing inside this bowl, you could not believe your eyes.

Vertibowl3.jpg
Photo: Glenn Miyoda

It was intense, deep and scary - the scariest thing I've ever skated.

It had so much vertical, that if you weren't at a high level in your skating, you would just get pitched off the wall.

Vertibowl-Worm.jpg
Kevin Anderson

It happened to me - I went up, thinking I could do it and suddenly found myself floating, floating, floating, until I landed on the flat bottom.

It literally felt like I was in space for a few seconds, just free falling.

Vertibowl-Orton.jpg
George Orton

I wanted to share some of the rad skaters from the past who shredded this bowl.

Vertibowl-Worm2.jpg
Kevin Anderson

Amazing that they could get that high.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

That thing's steep as fuck! It's like a wall but looks like Kevin Anderson was okey with that haha!

Can't even imagine how it must feel like to skate that thing! The biggest bowl I've personally skated was around 2,5 m tall and almost shit my pants a couple times haha!

Crazy stuff man!

I can't even explain how gnarly it was for this 14 year old at the time...
Kevin Anderson has said that he used to see top pros get to the bowl and just walk away! LOL!
Dude was a beast in this bowl.

🔥 this is fire!! that quarter pipe seems to be no joke 😱 LEGENDARY!

If you could have nightmares about a bowl, this would be the bowl... :)

Congratulations @daveespino1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP