Tik Tok Skate

in SkateHive4 years ago

I'm playing with TikTok. It's a different kind of machine. Trends keep trending and other stuff isn't even seen. Searching is difficult because the app just throws videos at you.

Videos are based on the upright hand held position. When I do a video without a leading tag it just stays there with zero views like this skate video. When I do a goofy video from the leading tags my views go up to more than a hundred in twenty minutes and then stay there.

It's not like Youtube where a year later the views go up suddenly. It's just that moment. The app is also difficult to share on a blog. I had to upload the videos on youtube to show them here:

In the time I took to write this blog post the views on tictoc went up another hundred with three likes and three follows. I have never seen another social media site so based on momentary gratification. On one hand it looks grimly addictive and fun app to make short videos. On the other hand it looks like a formula for dissatisfaction and despair for many.

If you do choose to play with this app I recommend five minutes per day and not look at the interactions or search the videos at all.

It's been thirty years since I've been on a board but this summer I decided to give it a try. I have never done any tricks. If you have some recommendations where to start, please let me know.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Glad to see you back on board my friend! I've been skating for 16 years and my recommendation would be to learn how to ride smooth first and then try some manuals and Ollies!

Skateboarding need a strong base and the more comfortable you are on your board while riding the easier it gets when you try tricks!

Thank you.

Congratulations @mcsagel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP