About Personal Growth

in SkateHive2 years ago

Hey everyone! I wanted to share a bit about my story, my struggles and my healing. Hoping that if anyone is going through something similar this may help them in some way.
Last year I was down, drinking every chance I could, smoking non stop, my relationship ended, nothing seemed like was going to get better. The truth is that it didn't get better until I was ready to make a change in my life. I decided to try complete sobriety, I was seeking clarity and trying to prioritize what's important, our self love. I started seeing a therapist and I found a someone who I could really communicate with openly and it helped me understand where my behaviours were coming from. I never dealt with past traumas of my life, emotional abuse and neglect shaped a lot of my childhood. The way I dealt with these was by creating a quiet persona, a self defense mechanism to get by unnoticed, I would shut myself off and disappear, hoping not to become a problem for anyone. This survival mechanism became a traumatic trait within myself and would take over the wheel of my life at certain occasions. It wasn't until I talked with my therapist that I start to see this traits, their origins and how the were affecting my current behaviours. I would try to numb these down with alchohol or weed but that wasn't a solution for dealing with past. I needed clarity to face it all with a sober mind and pure intention of healing. In reality this is always an on going work, we should always be working on our self awareness and understanding the complexities of our lives. I am an artist and even my artwork has been affected from the time I started facing these traumas. It's not better or worse but it's changing with the changes I've been going through.
Thank you for reading! I hope this reached some people who may be struggling with depression or trauma. Just know that you are not alone and having someone to speak with openly and honestly can positively change your life. Working on your healing is hard and takes a lot of time, effort and awareness.

Sharing some of my Artwork:

Self Portrait

Portrait of Jayden

Artist Mind

Passenger

Blue


Here's me at my studio :)
img20230217_09562992.png

If you'd like to see my artist portfolio please check my website:
www.philippenick.ca

Sort:  

Congratulations @philnick! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Feedback from the March Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

I love you , your art and your phases

You are great person and great artist, my friend!
Let´s go!