JAKE COOK - ATTENTION SPANS 2021

in SkateHive2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


@web-gnar will be publishing local features, with exclusive interviews now, on @skatehive.

JAKE COOK, aka jakedood, @1jakedood on instagram, has been slaying the suburbs of chicago and releasing quality edits on his youtube and instagram.

Presented here, is a release by Jakedood a couple months ago called ATTENTION SPANS.

Along with an exclusive @SKATEHIVE interview by @web-gnar.

Interview with JAKE COOK

“Attention Spans” is all footage of you, filmed by you, right?

Attention Spans is all footage of me filmed by no one. I just set my phone up and do a trick

What did you use to film the clips?

I just use my iPhone and I bought a tripod that came when I googled “durable phone tripods” cause I’ve gone through like 3 just this year

How long did it take you to make Attention Spans?

The first clip I got for the video was on September 18th and I uploaded the video November 14th

Where are all these spots you take us to in ATTENTION SPANS?

Most of the spots in the video are in Elgin. Two of them are in south Elwin

That iconic wallride spot, did you make that?

The only thing I contributed to the wallride spot was I dragged the wood over from a building down the street. My friends Sean and Kitt had done the Bondo at the bottom of the bank (it had been an Ollie up style bank forever) so I mentioned how it would be cool if it were a wallride. One day kitt sent me a picture that he had zip tied that board to the fence. Actually I recently had to put new zip ties on it, I knocked it down doing the nollie fs wallride

Screen Shot 2021-12-19 at 10.16.39 PM.png

You have been collecting a lot of hammers over the course of these short videos, are you going to compile them into a bigger project?

I don’t have any plans to make a longer video out of DAE, MID SOMMAR, ATTENTION SPANS, or SAD BOY WINTER

I don’t like to make stuff with clips I’ve used already I always like my edits to be fresh, but winter is long so who knows if I’ll get bored and do it.

Screen Shot 2021-12-19 at 10.13.36 PM.png

What is the soundtrack in ATTENTION SPANS?

I used three songs by my favorite band Salem for the sound track

What motivates you to keep ripping and making videos all by yourself?

The motivation comes from a lot of different sources. A big one was just Audrey being born, you get this uncontrollable urge to just do well at everything you do in life.

I’ve always really loved filming tricks, to the point where I enjoy it more, the more of a struggle it is-- the satisfaction is almost in matchable for me.

The main [thing] is though I recently moved back to the suburbs from Chicago and the skatepark scene out here is just awful. I hate to sound negative there are great parks out here, but when parks are packed with young kids on scooters more than half the time it’s just no fun. So that plus loving doing it anyway and now that my time skating is way shorter due to having a daughter, I just thought about it like I’m way more satisfied if I go out street skating and try tricks I think of, downtown Elgin is like a ten minute bike ride from my house.

I usually get two hours max to skate like once a week so it’s the best way to use the time I have

Sorry that was a long one but it was a good question.

Also I love filming and editing videos so it only made sense to keep doing that if I don’t have time to make full videos anymore

How old is your baby?

My daughter Audrey was 10 months old in December 12th, the videos you asked about were made in that time span

Screen Shot 2021-12-19 at 10.12.57 PM.png

webgnar footer fin.png

stoken coin tiny.gif


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

This part was such a great watch, this dude's killing it! Wallride master for real!

Interview was the icing on the cake! Always loved to learn more about the personal life of skaters, especially from those who I enjoyed watching the parts like this dude!

THanks for sharing man and can't wait for the next one!

Whaaaaat???
wallies master, what a part, awesome!!!
😍🔥🔥🔥🔥