TOM FRY - Greatest Hits 2021

in SkateHive2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Preface:
Tom Fry has been on @web-gnar's radar for some time now, and he regularly posts skateboarding on his instagram. His newest publication was a compilation of clips he stacked during the course of 2021. The song he chose is delicate, and i really felt something while watching it. I love when people passionately edit their own parts, the parts come out differently and have a very personal touch to them, which I hope you observe in the video above.

Interview with Tom Fry by @web-gnar:

How old are you, Tom?


28

How long have you been skating?


15 years now

You live in chicago, have you lived in the midwest your whole life?

I was born in the Philippines but moved here very young. Grew up in the suburbs and have lived in the city on and off for probably 10 years / since I started school.

Do you ever return to the Philippines?


I lived in the Philippines for a year 2018-2019 , up until then it’s been a one month trip every 5 years or so

Screen Shot 2021-12-23 at 5.48.13 PM.png

You seem like a multi-faceted individual. What other things are you into, besides skating?

I went to school for non-fiction writing and didn’t finish but have always tried to keep the writing influence around - most recently into short comedy skits.

tf.png

https://tfry0930.medium.com/

I have been testing the waters on 2-D animations and really enjoy it.

Do you have a day job?

Service industry (barback)

This edit that you recently published, does it have a title?

no title , just an edit for the sake of making one.

This is a “greatest hits” compilation of tricks filmed on a phone right?

Yup exactly.

tomfry gif2.gif

When were all the clips filmed for this?

All throughout this year. Oldest clip is the manny revert half cab (March 7th) and most recent is the manny up and down (December 13th)

What is the soundtrack to the edit?

Bold by Jackie Cohen (they were hyped)

Who films you skating most of the time?

whatever homies happen to be at the park at the time and don’t mind filming. I always wanna film something and hate asking so I’m likely to offer a coffee or a tall boy.

tomfry gif1.gif

Or I set my phone up on my bike somehow.

What is your favorite flip trick?

Man that one’s tough...

Favorite flip trick to do : half cab flip

Favorite to see done well : bs flip

Do you have any other full parts from other full length videos? or have you ever made a VX part?

no full parts , just random edits I’ll make every few months. I’d love a (VX) part honestly and still wanna make one happen.

I’ll keep a few playlists of songs I’d wanna use and always test it with the only clips I have just to see how it’d turn out (this edit being one of them).

Screen Shot 2021-12-23 at 4.54.21 PM.png

webgnar footer fin.png


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Dear @web-gnar,

Do you mind supporting the HiveBuzz proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

We wish you a Happy New Year!

 2 years ago  

This dude's got so much style man! Manual Pivot fakie manual halfcab out was so good!

Thanks for one more awesome read bro, can't wait for the next one! Always interesting to read about skaters backgrounds cause we are a weird breed hahaha