An Outsider Look at Hive Now

in Review the World3 years ago

upcalc.jpg

For today's review I would like to look at HiveNow by @penguinpablo .

HiveNow is a blockchain explorer that groups transactions by type. You can view your page by appending your account name to the end of the URL. This is my page:

https://hive-now.com/@irivers

@irivers is a new account. I have only 2HP. The first group shows the upvotes on my post. The second group shows my curation rewards.

Notice, I have only 2 HP. Because I have little HIVE POWER, I don't get curation rewards.

I suspect that very few users understand this. People with low HIVE POWER rarely get curation rewards. HIVE does not pay curation rewards lower than 0.001.

It takes about 60 HP to get 0.001 HP curation reward. Curation rewards vary. I think accounts should have a minimum of 120 HP so that their average curation reward will be 0.002.

HIVE Dust

This brings me to a second problem called HIVE DUST. HIVE will not pay rewards of less than $0.02. It wipes away small amounts as dust.

I wrote several hundred posts before I realized this.

But, lets get back to the site review. Hive Now has a utility called The Upvote Calculator. This utility shows the value of an upvote for a give amount of HIVE.

The USD value of an upvote is determined by the price of HIVE, the size of the rewards pool and one's voting power. This utility shows the official HIVE price (which is reported by the witnesses and is usually inaccurate) and the size of the rewards pool.

You can enter different amounts of HIVE POWER to see the value of an upvote. It currently takes about 2300 HP to bring an upvote to 0.02.

$0.02 is the magic number. I waited until the price of HIVE dipped last year and bought 3600 HP for the account @yintercept. I can now sweep the dust for any account with which I interact.

The upvote calculator answered the question that plagued me for the first year on HIVE. It lets me see the value of an upvote for a given amount of HIVE.

The price of HIVE has dropped of late. It is probably a good time for small accounts to buy some HIVE POWER to increase the value of their upvote.

I will end today's review by pointing out that @penguinpablo 's HIVE account provides interesting statistics on account usage.

The picture shows my fat thumb in upvote position while holding a calculator. My hand has been a bit swollen since receiving my COVID19 vaccine.

I wanted to post using LeoFinance.io; However, I could't figure out how to post in the Review the World Community

two_cents.JPG