Mowing Without Gas

in Review the World2 years ago (edited)

It snowed yesterday. Today I am mowing the lawn. Yep, I live in a wonderland called Utah.

Unfortunately, the lawn I need to mow is quite large; I don't think I could get the job done with a push mower.

The new generation of push mowers is amazing. If the lawn was smaller I would use a push mower. It is about 0.1 acres and on a hill.

In years past, the first mowing of the lawn was a huge hassle. Mowing would involve changing the oil on the mower, a trip to the gas station for gas. I would also take the mower to mechanics for regular tune ups. Of course, small engine mechanics were too busy to service the mower during the Spring months.

I should mention that I had a high fail rate of mowers.

A decade ago I decided to switch to a corded electric mower. The mower starts like a charm every year. The only maintenance is an occasional sharpening of the blades.

Several friends bought battery powered mowers. Batteries involve toxic chemicals and slowly lose their ability to hold power. Friends who bought battery powered mowers at the same time as my power mower have had to replace the batteries.

The only disadvantaged of the corded mower is that it limits the patterns I use to mow the lawn. The best pattern is to start at the outlet and mow in a zig zag pattern away from the outlet. I also have to play jump rope with the power corde while mowing.

I always mow when the sun is shining. So, corded mowers fit well into a solar powered future.
I looked at the new mowers at a local hardware store. They all had batteries. I had to order the corded mower online.

Anyway, if your gas powered mower fails to start this year, I think your best alternative is to buy a corded electric mower (assuming you have a power plug near your lawn).

The pictures shows some Grape Hyacinth framed by the mower. No hyacinth were harmed in the making of this photo.

Addendum + My Preferences

I made a mistake in the first post. When I edited it in NeoxianCity, the system only recorded the changes. So, I will try a complete reposting in Peakd.

My parent's generation saw large, well tended lawns as a sign of civil virtue. My neighborhood actually had zoning laws that required lawns. This attitude is gradually changing. I think native gardens are considered acceptible.

I thought I would rank my landscape preferences:

  1. A native plant garden.

  2. A vegestable garden

  3. A small lawn that one can mow with a push mower ... lined by either native plant or vegetable gardens.%0A%0AI feel that large lawns should be used as playing fields or when high visibility is required.

Posted using Neoxian City