Introduction to Gods Unchained + My thoughts

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

Hello everyone, I will be talking about how I came to play Gods Unchained and my thoughts about it thus far, having played for around a week now

I'll start with a short paragraph of how I came to know of Play2Earn games in general. I kinda talked about this in detail in a previous post so I'll be concise xD.

I encountered Splinterlands, a HIVE game, in August this year, had my first taste of fun play to earn games. There are some games which I play merely for the monetary aspect of it, while there are some which I play because I genuinely enjoy them, with Splinterlands and very recently Gods Unchained being games i truly enjoy. I've played a few others, but none seem to interest me as much as card games such as Splinterlands and Gods Unchained (I'm kinda bad at card games tho haha)

After playing Splinterlands for a while I thought: "Why not find some other games that are similar in concept? They're pretty fun", and so I did. I came to know of Gods Unchained around September/October, and briefly researched about it. but i was put off by the fact that it was on the Ethereum platform, which meant high gas fees. I thought that meant that everytime I bought a card, i would have to pay the high gas fees. ( Like I said, I only briefly researched 😅) And so I put it in my watchlist and didn't start playing it.

Cut to December, I saw some hype about Gods Unchained regarding the Forge. So I probed further and came to understand the game a little more, including about Immutable X marketplace. To my understanding, this means that trading the cards themselves on this marketpalce wasn't subject to the high gas fees that are typical of transactions on the eth mainnet. In short, I only needed to pay the gas fees when i deposited into the Immutable X marketplace, and not during every purchase/sale of cards. (Disclaimer: I have not yet personally used the Immutable X marketplace to trade cards, I dont know for sure if this is how it works)

This 'bypassing' of the high fees was pretty neat, but I nevertheless decided to play the game first and decide on investing later. So far, I've gotten some GODS tokens and some Meteorite foil cards from the Weekend event, so I'm hopeful about this game :D

Any regrets about the game?
My only 'regret' is that I didn't manage to play this game earlier when I first found out about it. Thats my weakness I guess, I don't go into detail very often when researching something, I wonder how many great games with superb potential I've missed out xD


Thoughts on the game:
It's similar to another game I played before, Hearthstone. There are many similarities, such as the "Roar" skill in GU and "Battlecry" in Hearthstone, both triggers an action when you play the card. However, there are also some different skills, such as the "Armor" in GU which is not in Hearthstone.

The matches are fun, and the skill interactions are fun. Face Hunter/ Face War is op in lower tiers in both games, which is nice to see xD. I like aggro decks alot, since it means I can play more games the same time period. I know many people can grind for countless hours or days on the same game repetitively, but I like to take breaks and change games after every 2 hours or so just to keep it fresh.

Me trying out a aggro face War deck when I first found that deck archetypes are similar to other games like Hearthstone as well:
image.png

I have also enjoyed using the Deception deck recently, I realized that aggro face War begins to get countered quite easily in high ranks with my beginner cards. I'm considering to spend a little money on a decent deck, but a little money into the game means a lot of fees (percentage wise.) Maybe just put a lot of money and make decent decks for all the playable gods xD

Thoughts about HIVE:
I've been on HIVE for a few months now, and I'm liking what I see. I put in effort into my posts, and its hearthwarming to see that my posts get rewarded handsomely, and that people do seem to enjoy my posts. It gives me motivation to continue writing. (Tho as I'm writing this I have like 5 drafts that are waiting to be worked on, procrastination do be hitting hard xD) It allows content creators to get rewarded in tangible currencies, not just fake "Likes". Content consumers(is that the term?) can also choose to reward posts which interest them, while also be able to profit a little from their votes.

The only suggestion I would like to make is to make the platform more accessible to mobile users. Currently I'm using HIVE Keychain app's built in browser to browse on mobile. It gets wonky sometimes, so it would be great if that can be improved.

My little conclusion:
A wise man (on discord) once said that one of the deciding factors on whether a Play2Earn game will survive depends on whether it is FUN. Forget all the tokenomics and economy, the foundation of a game is its playability. If your game can survive without the play to earn aspect, it most likely is able to thrive in a Play2Earn environment. Players like myself are sick and tired of spending hundreds or thousands of dollars in a game only to be hit with the "This intellectual property belongs to us, the game company. haha sucker" when trying to sell our in game assets. Card games like Gods Unchained have withstood the test of time and is insanely popular even without the enticement of Play to Earn. Imagine how big it could get when we add Play to earn aspects, AND allow players to own their cards on the blockchain as NFTS. Gods Unchained has all the aspects needed to succeed, all we need to do now is wait. Wait for the mainstream media and gamers alike to embrace NFT gaming and #Play2Earn.


Thats all from me, thanks for reading
Have a great day :) 🍪

Sort:  

Congratulations @abyssalsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!