You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Ranked Deck Guide: 20+ wins Mythic Nature

in Gods On Chain2 years ago (edited)

I always enjoy watching games from good players, as I learn a lot. In particular, your willingness to trade stags. I think I try too hard to keep them on the board for more random cards when I should just make trade.

In game 2, though, I would have definitely used Canopy Barrage on that hidden Dockside Prowler (even not expecting the Arsenal). So many blitz creatures he would definitely be able to kill Finnian. Wondering if you think that was a miss play, or if you could expand your reasoning for that line. Thanks!

Sort:  

Game 2, versus aggro war, I expect plenty of creatures that are more threatening than the 1 mana 2/2. The line of thinking was saving my 2 mana removal instead of using it on his 1 mana card; not a favorable trade in my opinion.
Also, if he took turn 2 to answer Finnian, with blitz or otherwise, Finnian was able to generate an apple for value the previous turn, and I had the Faeflame equipped to follow up and clear off. In other words, Finnian already did his job and I don't get too attached trying to ensure he survives for more than one turn.

Thanks. This is exactly my problem: getting too attached. I'll work on that. I'm happy to report that I am trading in stags like nobody's business this weekend. If they get me an extra card, excellent, but if they can trade well then they're gone. Just need to apply this same logic to finnian.

It's a fine balance. Also be aware of over-trading vs applying face pressure.