Gods Unchained weekend ranked rewards. Do they need a restructure to give more rewards to mythic players?

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

So I thought maybe we could take a few minutes and talk about the current way weekend ranked rewards are structured. Currently I am a mid-tier player at midnight shadow. This weekend I put up my best weekend ranked ever with 18/25 wins. I was super stoked about it and I can not wait to get my packs this coming weekend. But after some chatter in a few different discords and hearing peoples results I started to think. Perhaps the rewards system needs a slight revamp. Nothing crazy but just more incentive to be a mythic level player.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCU37DfWaVkB1fD9TRexugcf65weKDtJZbtENVRriU71zE6mttG1w5FVSpNvBpsoyVYV92VU8adce5NAyKFF7UFt12yVSGnp9sutNdYCKHjPhti.png

Now before you bust out the torches and come to slay me hear me out. Or you could just watch the video lol. Whichever works best for you. But people at the mythic level are playing the game at the highest level. So the competition is far greater. And the amount of skill required is also higher.
Along with this comes a greater investment in their decks. Some of these decks are pushing 4k or more in $USD. So that is why I feel a little more reward for them is fair. Because currently if you do not win more then 16 games it is better to not be in mythic.

NicePng_hearthstone-card-png_9313256.png

I am not talking about a crazy amount of added rewards maybe just a few more Divine Order rare packs. And since we have been taking part in the blessing of the $GODS event why not reward them with $GODS token. Not even a crazy amount of the token. But enough to make them feel like their money and time is worth playing at the highest rank. I would love to get some feedback from some mythic level players like @copperpitch , @acidyo, @veteranhoplite, @fakemews, @verbalshadow, and @cautionfun. Hopefully these folks who are huge in the Gods Unchained community could chime in.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCU37DfWaVkB1fD9TRexugcf65weKDtJZbtENVRriU71zE6mttG1w5FVSpNvBpsoyVYV92VU8adce5NAyKFF7UFt12yVSGnp9sutNdYCKHjPhti.png

Wanted to thank @flauwy for the awesome divider and creating the kick ass OneUp token. And I made the thumbnail using Canva.com. Thanks for sticking around and I hope we get some feedback and a conversation going about this.

Sort:  

Another interesting PTE game, but I don't know anything about this one. Splinterlands takes enough of my time that I don't think I could immerse myself in another one. But there is always the question of rewards at the different levels, no matter which game you are playing. It always takes a huge investment of time and funds and skill requirements to make the upper levels. One would hope the rewards would be in line with the investment.

I currently play both splinterlands and Gods Unchained. It is extremely time consuming to do both. Gods Unchained is reawarding but for the mythic players I feel the need a little more incentive. Like how at the start of a splinterlands season powerful players hang in lower ranks and beat up on weaker players to make the leaderboards. Splinterlands to could use a revamp that would benifit players to rank up rather then spend half a season beating up on weaker players lol.

I feel ya on that! Very frustrating to constantly battle stronger opponents who are simply on the leaderboard hun!t

I agree. The GU team recognized the issue, but their solution was incomplete. In Mythic, you only have to get 17 wins to get a legendary pack (compared to 20 wins in Ethereal Diamond). However, as you say, getting 15 wins in Mythic is no different from ED. They just need to rescale the 10-15 rewards to be slightly better than Diamond. An extra expansion rare pack here, an extra expansion epic pack there, etc.

Yea, as long as it is just epic and rare packs I think it will make people happy. If not we will never see any growth in the mythic level player pool. And when you play a game isn't the goal to hit the highest level possible. And want to compete with the best the game has to offer? GU has a long road ahead of them, their are a lot of features that could be added to help this game explode.

My personal opinion has been changing the format of the weekend ranked more often would be best and keep the game fresher. I also think the sanctum should change every week but maybe that requires too much effort.

Solid idea. And yea a rotating sanctum on a schedule type thing what you are talking about? There is a definite need for different formants. Like singleton, sealed. I would love to see a speed format where the timer for you to make your choses runs super fast. Almost like a speed chess type of thing. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment man. Hope things are well with you.

I'd love bullet GU would be difficult to stream but I already play pretty quick. I think shaking these up on a more regular basis helps prevent the game from potentially getting stale long term.

Exactly keeping the game from getting stale would make things like the blessing of the $GODS event easier to swallow week after week if the format just changed. Also format change would be great for long term players like yourself to keep from burn out.

I agree that the ranked system needs a rework in order to prevent deranking.
I also do not blame players for doing this at all. This is a competitive design problem.

If you create a game in which significant economic gain can be made and just hope that the honor system is going to keep people without thousands of dollars of ETH slamming F2P decks against double demo decks you've made a massive misstep.

It trickles down because you have mediocre players with top cards deranking to Gold. Then you have players that should be able to compete in Gold deranking, and so on and so forth.

I think that the answer here is making ranked a separate queue that you can only queue your matches for the weekend in. Having ranked and non ranked game rating tied together is the root issue here.

See now I did not think of the two separate ques. And that is why I wanted as much feedback as possible. I appreciate you taking the time to drop your thoughts down here for me. I hope that together we can all continue to help the GU community to grow and prosper.

matchmaking needs to be consistent for mythic players. ethereal diamonds for example will have rewards that are capped based on their level but still has to face mythic players so it's a bit unfair in that way.

rewards need to be restructured better to entice players to level up and keep their ranking before the start of the weekend battles.

Yea that is the whole point of this article. I think the pool of mythic players is smaller and that is why ethereal diamonds have to face mythic. But if the rewards were changed and mythic had much better rewards then people might actually want to play at the mythic level. Which in turn would make match making a little better. This is just a theory however. Would not know for sure until changes were actually made.

Congratulations @squirrelacus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!