Trying Free to Play Ramp Magic Deck

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

thumbnail.png

Hello everyone,

So recently I started playing different gods every once in a while either for the sake of trying the playstyles I previously mentioned or just to explore and have fun with different deck each time.

And I can say that really playing all gods from time to time gives a new taste to the game and make it much more enjoyable. Especially when all your nature confused creatures been missing at a certain point. You can just take a break and try other gods!

So lately I wanted to try ramp magic for 2 reasons:

1- It has seen to be quite effective even with a f2p version.
2- It is so different that the war/nature creature type of gameplay so it should be a new experience.

So in this post I will be sharing the deck I tried and how it ended up.

The deck

deck.jpg

I tried to keep this deck as f2p as possible. So the goal of a ramp magic deck is to get ahead on mana from your opponent and that can be done using Sip of Elixir or Mana Toad, and then after you are way ahead you swarm your opponent with the strong late game finishers that you have.

The goal is to survive to late game with your spells and then finish off the game since you have amazing late game creatures. Try to be as efficient as possible with the spells to be able to clear the board and not take a lot of damage.

Matchups Breakdown

I played this deck for 12 games and they were all in mythic and this is how it went:

MatchupsWins/MatchesWin rate
Light1/1
Nature4/5
Magic2/2
Death0/0
War1/3
Deception1/1
Overall9/1275%

As you can see it did very well against all gods except for war I was not able to hold on and I took a lot of damage so fast because the decks are faced are fast paced as all war decks are.

But overall pretty decent and I am pretty sure the deck can be improved.

Important Cards:

These are the cards that I felt are so important for this deck:

Helian Elite (1$)

Helian.jpg

Naturally, the Helian Elite is an amazing late game win condition although she can be replaced by a lot of late game strong creatures, she still provides more value with the insane strength and HP as well as the shield that can be a problem to your opponent most of the times. It sells now for 1$ and it is so good to get!

Shaped Blast (1.30$)

shaped.jpg

This spell is so good especially if things got out of hand and the board was flooding with 2 3 4 mana creatures this spell will held clear the board! Although it can be replaced by Crystal Rain the 1 extra point of damage sometimes make a lot of difference.

Wall of Lightning (0.55$)

wall.jpg

This card is so good to help you survive till late game. For 4 mana a 4/5 frontline as well as +1 spell boost is so good! I was surprised when I saw this card was only selling for 0.55$ I expected it to be more.

Of course I am not gonna mentioned the Sip of Elixir and Mana Toad as important cards because the deck is based off of ramping so such cards are a must have!

Cards I would add if I had them:

Labyrinth Guard

labyrinth.jpg

This card is pretty much used in all Ramp Decks for the amazing value and defense it provides. I replaced it with the Minotaur Phalanx because I did not have it but the 1 armor makes a huge difference and I would love to add it. I might buy it or wait to get it!

Shadow Scryer

shadow.jpg

The foresee on this card is so valuable to help you get the cards that you might need or rather avoid the worst ones to get at certain point. For only 1 mana you will probably get to foresee 2 or 3 cards which will help you start the game decently!

Vow of Learning

vow.jpg

This is an amazing spell that I would love to add. It can come in handy in many situations either for clearance or protection. You never know when you might need to protect yourself or a certain creature from lethal damage!

I would also throw another Sip of Elixir instead of a Mana Toad for faster ramping but since I have only 1 I had to do it like this!

Conclusion

Switching gods from time to time help you learn the game a lot more and explore it. It can give you the experience and the knowledge of how to think or act against a specific type of decks if you play it yourself!

Ramp Magic was a very fun unique deck I played especially being a nature main where it is mainly all strong creatures all around!

I am planning to keep trying new decks from time to time because I feel it is helping me a lot to know how to play when I face a specific type of deck which can help me improve my win rate in weekend rank hopefully!

So expect future posts like this one with different decks and playstyles each time while I also keep trying decks of the playstyles that I mentioned in my previous posts and still have not tested yet!

That's it for this post hope you like the deck, of course there is always room for improvement! Make sure to drop me a follow and let me know what you think of ramp magic in general!

Mad love, Peace out <3

Sort:  

Interesting choices for a f2p deck. The Helian Elite was always a card in most Mage decks and is definitely a good solid late card. I use Wall of Lightning in my deck too. The spell boost can be a difference. I did not use Vow of Learning before, but now seeing it, it should very helpful and flexible in many situations.
Talking about switching Gods from time to time. It's a good idea and will sharpen your mind about other mechanics and play styles. Learning and knowing what your opponents thinks and what his next card could be, is a huge advantage in this god war.
Thank you for sharing your f2p deck and experience.
!PIZZA !BEER

Thanks for the comment bro! And for the pizza I was very hungry XD

I saw that.. You worked hard on that deck. 😏


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@chaosmagic23(1/10) tipped @theking24 (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @theking24! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!