π”Ήπ•šπ•₯π•”π• π•šπ•Ÿπ”Ήπ•’π•“π•ͺ π•Žπ•–π•Ÿπ•₯ β„™πŸšπ”Ό - Buying & Selling Noob Style!

in Gods On Chain β€’ 8 months ago

Every Day A Different Story (21).gif

When I do something I just jump in.
I donΒ΄t read manuals.
I donΒ΄t do tutorials....
Until itΒ΄s way too late and mistakes have been made.


You can read about those mistakes in most of my previous posts (you can find links at the bottom of this one)
The great thing is, you can learn from my mistakes.


Today will be no different, even though you might think I already made and wrote about all the mistakes possible....trust I found a new one.

Basically, this is just a little follow-up on last week's Best NooB Advice. I just found a new mistake this week and that mistake drove me to write this little noob buying and selling story.

The Good News

Last month I told you how I messed up on buying Ember Oni, how this nasty piece of work went up 20 GODS while I was saving up to buy one:

image.png

I had no clue what to do, so I put an order in place for 55 Gods, but it seems nobody checked those because two weeks later.....

I saw Mr Oni on sale and no it was not Black Friday yet.

Screenshot 2023-11-12 230143.png

While I had an outstanding order for 55 GODS someone put the same card up for 39 GODS.

Now trust me that is a bargain! Ember Oni has not been that cheap since May 2023.

image.png

That was a steal but when I checked out Ember Oni I found something that shocked me.

The Mistake

What I found was that months ago I owned a meteor version of Ember Oni. No clue how I got it but I found it when I was looking at all the cards I sold.

ThatΒ΄s when I noticed I sold him, he or it was the first card I ever sold. I sold it at a time when I had no clue how to buy or sell and well that seems evident:

image.png

Do you see that price????

Now do you see that dip in April 2023?

image.png

That was caused by me, I had no idea where to check prices and what this card was worth....so I caused a nice little dip.

I took a 5 GODS lost on my first-ever sale!

Now over time I found out what and when to sell, so for all noobs trying to avoid my mistakes here is how I do it nowadays.

Not saying itΒ΄s THE way, but itΒ΄s a lot better than just putting in a price and hoping you are close.

What to Sell

When selling there are a couple of points I take into account. Like, I might not want to sell cards of a God you often play with.

So I am mainly focusing on selling those Gods I have little affinity with.

Now as I told you when I first started selling I had no clue about anything. Now I have a simple 3 step plan:

Step 1

Check the most valuable cards and the most valuable to forge cards as forging shit cards is just a waste of time. You can do that here:

https://guforge.com/

ItΒ΄s not always perfect but itΒ΄s a good indicator, you have the top view:

image.png
And if that does not help start scrolling down.

Step 2

If you have some cards that are valuable and seem interesting to sell or forge check their prices on:

https://tokentrove.com/collection/GodsUnchainedCards

Then check if the current lowest price is still making you a bit of profit, because sometimes the selling price is below or very close to the forging price and you donΒ΄t want to waste your energy on that.

Example

LetΒ΄s use Nladefly as an example:

image.png
Now this is a great little example that forging a card into shadow might not always be the best thing to do financially. So letΒ΄s do the math:

A Meteor does 0.152 GODS and A Shadow does 0.876 do you see what I mean?
5*0,152= 0.760 adding another 0.1 Gods for forging gets the price at 0,860 GODS. So it seems to be the best choice to turn them into a shadow but better do step 3 first.

Step 3

Also check how often they sell, if they hardly sell in a month you might not want to invest time and assets into forging them.

The Shadow version sold 5 times in 30 days:

image.png

Where the meteor sold daily at least:

image.png

Hence for the minimal benefit you make from a Shadow it might be better to put them up as Meteor and sell them all in a day (or two):

image.png

I have seen several examples where buying the Shadow version was cheaper than buying 5 Meteors just because Meteors have a tendency to be a much more difficult sale.

The Plan

So have a plan, are you planning on further upgrading down the line, best buy that Shadow straight away. Are you doubting if a card will add value, best to buy a meteor first, see how it plays out, and then buy the Shadow.

That is also probably the reason why many more Meteors are sold than Shadows.

At least that is what I would do. Now was it worth all the work I put into forging them to make 0.4 GODS per sale? The answer is probably No, but if you are in it to get rich, you better get out. This is about the fun of buying and selling and making a little profit on the side.

So checking the price is done on Tokentrove

But I also use it to check up on what I sold and what I still have on sale. This brought to light the Mr. Oni mistake mentioned before but it is so easy if you just apply these two settings:

Sold

To see what you have sold and at what price just apply these settings:

sold.png

  1. Go to my account
  2. Select Activity
  3. Select the token and sold

This allows you to keep track of your sales, but I prefer this one:

Listed

listed.png

  1. Go to my account
  2. Select Wallet
  3. Select the token and listed

This will give you an overview of everything you have on sale and allows you to update your prices (if you want to) quickly.

Just click on any listed card, and select the token you have listed it for:

Screenshot 2023-11-28 145115.png

Then check the current lowest price and remember it for 15 seconds while you click on My Listings Only:

my li.png

Now you can calculate the difference between the lowest price, your price, and if you are willing to lower your price.

Screenshot 2023-11-28 145814.png

If you decide to lower your price just click change, adjust, and put the NFT up for sale again against a more competitive price.

Inventory

I have noticed that I had built up quite a bit of inventory that was not selling and after updating the prices, sometimes just a bit they sold as hot buns right out of the oven.

image.png

A lot of excess inventory gone within a week after I made the updates:

image.png

Bikini Bottom Line

Now it is all up to you if you sell, when you sell, and how much effort you want to put into forging and selling.
I noticed that I can combine it with watching a bit of TV and therefore make a little money while doing nothing. ItΒ΄s all up to you, but at least now you have a bit of guidance selling like a noob.

More of my Noob Advice:

π”Ήπ•šπ•₯π•”π• π•šπ•Ÿπ”Ήπ•’π•“π•ͺ π•Žπ•–π•Ÿπ•₯ β„™πŸšπ”Ό - 𝐁𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐍𝐨𝐨𝐁 π€ππ―π’πœπž (I never had) π’π­πšπ«π­π’π§π  𝐆𝐨𝐝𝐬 π”π§πœπ‘πšπ’π§πžπ

image.png

[Source Pic](All pictures are by Meme, MyI & AI unless source is listed)

Sort: Β 

So I am mainly focusing on selling those Gods I have little affinity with.

Same here, I am only selling cards from the domain I am not using.

I am gonna spend my weekend selling some old inventory again it worked very nicely last time and it does not make you rich but all little bits help and they ainΒ΄t helping floating around cyberspace. SO I just need a good movie or series to watch while I spent my time forging and putting them up for sale.

Hi, now I'm buying "Ember Oni" below "8 gods", nice post.πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Thanks and Yeah those prices fluctuate a lot on that dude, but I think you will never get him as cheap as when I made my screw up and I think I got the shadow one as a complete bargain...but he has been doing quite well in battle so I am not selling!

thank you very much for the post. I wanted to ask you how you did to place this letter in your title ?

!PIZZA
!PGM
!HBIT

Lol yes I will share my secret I use this page: https://boldtext.io/

Nice work. I am also trying to hustle buy and sell a few cards on Gods. With ETH pumping our bags, now seems a good a time as any!

GODS is pumping harder these last couple of days, but I still have no clue what is the cheapest way to get them out, I think fees will still be high on smaller transactions as I will have to move them to Metamask first and then to an exchange I guess.

Yeah, it is a real conundrum! The future for gaming on ETH is not bright imo!

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @whywhy.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@davot(3/10) tipped @whywhy