Gibanica cheese pie - by surprise

in Creative Cuisine5 months ago

It just happened, without planning it.

Gibanica appeared on my table, after it came out from the oven, though a few steps had to happen before.

For example, forgetting to buy yeast for the rolls I wanted to prepare today... I had to go back to the supermarket, which is not a great feeling, right? It happens that when you forget something and you go back for the missing ingredient, you end up buying a ton of other stuff. Like a roll of meat stuffed with raisins, fish, peas, carrots, Russian salad, milk, juice, the yeast you originally went for and then you see Filo.

Yes!

The original idea of preparing little rolls was replaced by the thought of preparing gibanica cheese pie. (it is a traditional pastry dish that is famous over the Balkans) I already had eggs, cottage cheese, and sour cream at home... Now the Filo pastry made the difference and look, it posed with those bowls. Like lips, the two packages of Filo smiled on my table.

IMG_20231230_145444.jpg

Let us get serious and share the recipe. As you can think I just play there in the kitchen and mix whatever I find. It is not always like that. Sometimes I follow the steps, but I don't consider the measurement always.

The original recipe that I have says that we need:

  • 500 gr of Filo pastry

  • Two eggs

  • 250 gr of cottage cheese

  • yoghurt

  • 150 ml of sparkling water

  • 50 ml oil

I almost did everything like this, but instead of the yoghurt I used sour cream, and I didn't measure the sparkling water and the oil. It was more or less, it will be good technique.

IMG_20231230_145533.jpg

Here I mixed the eggs, cottage cheese, sour cream, oil, sparkling water and a pinch of salt. This summer I ate a very tasty gibanica, but the chef {who I hope will be proud of me for seeing me active in this culinary thing} also put into the mix chopped chard, directly picked from the garden. That is a version I really like. But I am not a real chef as she is, and I don't have chard on my balcony, just some succulents. I stayed with the normal, modest just cheese and eggs version.

IMG_20231230_145651.jpg

The real fun begins when the mixture is ready and you start putting the Filo sheets on the tray {usually, I use a rounded tray for gibanica}. We place two sheets on the bottom, brush them with a little oil and on that "bed" we place the rest of the sheets that we first "bathe" in the cheese, egg, sparkling water and oil mixture.

IMG_20231230_145741.jpg

You see, it is very easy. You don't have to think about not tearing the sheet, or taking extra care of aesthetics. Just crumple it up and dip it into the mixture. Imagine being a child again and don't think about anything. Crumple, dip, place into the tray and again. Oh, wait, you do have to think about one thing. To leave two sheets for the end, as we have to cover the pie with them.

IMG_20231230_145708.jpg

When you stay without Filo sheets, use up the whole mixture, and cover the "mess" with the two last sheets, you have to put it into the hot oven and wait. How much time? A bit more than half an hour or until you feel you should stop entertaining yourself with Baileys... Btw, I got this little bottled surprise today! :D

IMG_20231230_133127.jpg

When it is finished, cut it into pieces. I cut it into triangles, as it reminds us of börek, a pastry similar to gibanica and which we hadn't eaten for a few months.

This unplanned gibanica was tasty and could be repeated, probably by surprise again, somewhere next year :))

IMG_20231230_145831.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Wuao! I confess that I did not know this dessert, what a wonderful way to present it from the simple delicacy with a good companion Wisky en crema.
You know? we have a very similar typical drink in my country called Ponche Crema and it is mostly consumed during the Christmas season, very tasty.
The market thing also happens to me frequently - hahaha - you end up comparing twice as much as you intended.
I'm sure the chef will be proud of you, because this dessert turned out great, I hope it will be repeated.

Haha, yes, we end up buying much more than we initially thought! Better to go with a shopping list and just close our eyes for everything else 😁

Ponche crema - I searched for it now. Yes, looks similar and tasty. 🤤

This looks yummy. Since the recipe is simple, I will try making it. My only fear is that it might be tastier than your. LOL

Hahaha, there are high probabilities that your one would taste better. As for this one, you can try it just through the screen :p

And wow, your "Gibanica cheese pie" looks delicious!!!... Excellent recipe!... Thank you very much for sharing dear @mipiano fried!... I wish you an excellent end of the year and a wonderful 2024 and full of good things from now on!...

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @mipiano

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @mipiano

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 10/25

@mipiano! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (2/5)

The year has to finish with some tasty dishes :)

Thank you dear @jlinaresp and all the best to you too in 2024. Un abrazo! 😃

It looks delicious 😋 I'd like to wait for it to be cooked with Baileys ☺️. Happy new year!🥳🥳🥳🎊🎉🤗

Then come the next time I make it, and we wait together with Baileys 😉🥂

Yes!!! Thanks 😊🤣🤗🤗

😳 ¿¡mipiano chef!? Debo estar dormida aún.

 5 months ago  

Aquí todo es posible jajaja, te lo dije quien entra en Creative Cuisine sale enamorado de este arte 😋

Parece que he descubierto la cocina... Hasta ahora pensaba que es solamente un cuarto más en la casa 😂

 4 months ago  

untitled.gif

Mañana diré al levantarme... hace un año que no cocino jajaja

Yo lo podré decir en 40 minutos :))

 4 months ago  

Felíz año 🤗🤗🤗✨

Hahaha. Despierta, Naninxxx!

Ahora mira el post nuevamente y sabrás si fue solo un sueño o no. 😜

🤤 food, bed and a bath. Hahaha 🤣

El baño antes de dormir, of course.

That looks delicious 😋 I might try to make it myself at some point.

It is so easy, and also tasty, that it would be a sin not to try it out 😉

Wao! I never knew you are great cook like this. This is so great and nice. I would love to get a taste of it next time😋

Seems there can be some surprises on my blog 😁

Yeah actually, there is and I look forward to seeing more of these surprises

 5 months ago  

Hi friend welcome, you have made me crave from the recipe to the Baylis hahaha, I am about to start cooking lunch and now I want dessert hahaha.

And this drink after eating it all hahaha.

I guess by now you already finished cooking, and desserts and drinks too :p

May you have a happy day, full of delicious dishes 😇

 4 months ago  

I've been living in the kitchen for days hahaha

😂😂😂

I hope it was comfortable 😜

 4 months ago  

🤣🤣🤪👨🏻‍🍳

OMG I can not even explain my wide smile when I saw this :D
Even tho I am a bit jealous not tasting it :P it looks 🤤 these days I'll m a y b e try to make one from the scratch.

I'm so proud of you mi (:

Yay, a smile. A proud smile!!! 😌

You can't be jealous, you have drunk angels 😆

Ow, making it from scratch - you will rock with it. 🤓
For me, it is just rocket science haha

<3

In my opinion, the only thing missing here is a cup of yogurt and the enjoyment of Gibanica is 100% complete 👏🙂

Yep, that is usually the best with yoghurt if consumed for breakfast 🙂

I will share in some post the recipe for gibanica that my mother makes. It's not a light version, but a real Serbian, peasant, fat one...
Known by the saying here in the Balkans: "nije prava gibanica dok ne curi mast niz bradu"🙂

I never had it! This must be soooo good...
And even better with Baileys :D

I never had it! This must be soooo good...

The one who made drunk angels prepares this type of pie heavenly well!! 🤤

Everything is better with Baileys :D
Ph is the culprit for this new bottle... but I didn't complain 😂

The one who made drunk angels prepares this type of pie heavenly well!! 🤤

ohhhh :p

It looks super yummy! And the most important thing is that you do not have to take care of the aesthetics of the folds, this great and looks very tasty!!! I want a piece!😜

I want a piece!😜

We didn't eat it all, there is still a piece. Five hours in a car, more or less, and you can arrive at my place just on time to try it ;)

I'll have to take a bus!!! hahahahahaha otherwise I'll do it at home. 🤣

Delicious!!! 😋 Can I have a piece of this pie 😊
I Wish you and your family the best new year!! 🎊🎊

Yes, you can have a piece of it. Though I forgot to make a portal in this post... maybe the glass of that sweet Irish cream can help discover it ;)

Happy New Year to you too, señor Puma 😇🍾🥂

yogurt and sour cream will always be a good combination your surprise preparation looks really exquisite

Thank you, it was tasty. NOt sure if exquisite, but we were happy having it today 😇


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(7/10) tipped @mipiano

 5 months ago  

Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor @creativecuisine


Graciaaaaaaaaaaas :))

 5 months ago  

🤗🤗🤗

Your content has been manually curated by sagarkothari88
Upvote recommended by @edwing357 as part of Encouragement Program
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank. You. A lot. 😌 🥂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks ;)

Cutting the Gibanica in triangle shapes will make it look much like pizza, lol
I love the recipe and it looks quite easy to make
Nice one!

Now we got to learn one more special thing. We ourselves will definitely make it at home once.

It is simple and tasty too 👍

https://reddit.com/r/Sakartvelo/comments/18uvv4l/balkan_sister_of_georgian_achma_gibanica_looks/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @x-rain ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hahaha it was very funny to read the preparation of the Gibanica, which by the way I didn't know it but it looks very tasty. No doubt the Baileys made everything cooler 🤘... Cheers my dear friend! 🙌😀💛

What I like most about this recipe is that it has cheese in it which I assume is part of the essence of the dish and the best part is that it can be made fast Ouu Yeahhh 🔥🔥🔥!!!!

I hope you have a great time today with your loved ones, I send you a big hug and have a happy new year 2024 🌹💖..... You Foodly Rockkkkk!!! 👍😎🔥🥂🍾🎅☃️🎄❤️

I Foodly Rock? haha, ok, that's the new greeting when we publish about food :))

Thank you Don Fer, and a Happy New Year to you too, soon it will arrive here 😇🥂

cheese pie and baileys, what a great combination of tastes and textures, yummy scrummy!

Happy New Year to you @mipiano see you next year

Happy New Year to you too, soon, soon. It arrives in less than an hour here in Spain 🥂

I hope you had a good one , I was asleep by 10 pm, as I had to get up at 02:00 to take son and his family to the airport as they were jetting off to mexico. Ho Hum !!

Not always, only when you want :)

This looks so good Mipiano, I'm sure Jr Mipiano would enjoy eating it. Just like there, we also make this pastry in Turkey.

Yes, he liked it. He is not a huge fan of cheese but in this version he likes it :)

Happy New Year, @incublus 🥂

Happy new year!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Well I came to wish you happy NY, beautiful 💥

But now I've found a recipe so screw NY because cheese!

Saving it.

Also. Absolutely top New Year to you. Really enjoyed our members together in 2023. And looking forward to more in 2024. ❤️

Nicky!!! All the best to you in this year where we change just one number at the end :))

Btw, I just prepared today another yummy, baked stuff, I think I could love this cooking thingy, but when work starts again (I just have a short break) bye bye kitchen 😁

Oh goody!

I used up more than my voting fair share in the last few days of excitement and am on my way out the door in 4 minutes exactly.

I'm coming to find you soon :D

Yeay! Baking!! ❤️

Congratulations @mipiano! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List

Congratulations @mipiano! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List