What would be your last meal?

in Cent2 years ago (edited)

img_0.27061677374081805.jpg

How do you know if you really know someone? When we grow up, we learn to wear multiple masks. Most of the time we play different roles when we're with different people. We act one way when we're with our parents, then a completely different way when we're with our friends. Then we start careers and become actors. We adopt professional personas that are completely different from who we are when we're home with our family. By the time we're middle aged we're completely out of touch with our true selves.

There is a way to cut through the layers of false identities if you want to know someones true self. You can ask them a question that will reveal a lot of information. The question is, "What would you want your last meal to be before you die?" It's kind of morbid, and I apologize for that. But food is a very intimate a subject. And when you add the fact that it's their last meal, you are getting to see the person behind the mask.

Food is interesting. We like what we like. We all have comfort foods we grew up with that make us feel safe and loved. But when we grow up food also becomes a part of our false identity. How many people do you know who say, I can't eat that because I'm on a diet, or I'm vegan, or I only eat meat. Well, if you're about to eat your LAST meal are you going to stick to your diet?

I was a punk kid from Northern California in the 1990's. There are two foods that always made me happy. It's straight up junk food and shouldn't be part of anyone's regular diet. But it reveals a lot about who I am. If you're from Northern California, you know exactly what I'm talking about. Before I die, I want an In-N-Out burger (Double Double Animal Style) and a greasy ass Jimboys taco. The delicious salt and grease from that meal will release endorphins in my brain and make me feel happy and calm before I meet eternity. I feel know shame in any of this, it's who I am.

So if someone tells you they want their last meal to be an Ethiopian cabbage dish from the Whole 30 menu, you know they can't be trusted.

Sort:  

We have to be satisfied with what we have and have to maintain and make it useful.

Congratulations @chucknun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @chucknun.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more