Simple Investing.

in Centlast month (edited)

As a new investor, I believe that starting with the right mindset is crucial. A lot of individuals think investing is dangerous. However, keeping money in banks may appear secure but often decreases in value due to inflation. Otherwise, when executed properly over time investing can bring about higher returns.

The S&P 500 acted as a yardstick for me at the beginning of my investment journey.

S&P 500 is an index that traces the performance of 500 largest publicly traded companies in America. It is mainly used as a barometer for measuring how well/badly stock markets are doing generally speaking .

Therefore by learning about it ,I got to know more about how stocks work and what should be expected from them as an investor.

pexels-liza-summer-6347711.jpg

source

What I found interesting was that investors who held on their investments for long periods never made losses historically. This statement says a lot because this means one needs patience and a long-term approach towards investing.

While there might be fluctuations within shorter periods of time while dealing with shares or even good crypto projects (with proper use cases), remaining invested in them for many years has always turned out profitable. Classical example is Bitcoin.

If you want to succeed as an investor, it is important that you know why many fail. Most people let their feelings guide them when making investment decisions. They buy because they are greedy when the market is high and sell due to fear when it falls. Such emotional swings can result into unfavorable investment outcomes.

To counter this problem, what I do is invest continuously and forget about it mostly. My focus isn’t on trying to predict the market or chasing after what seems like a promising opportunity but rather on creating a diversified portfolio that suits my long-term objectives. This approach allows me to spread risks across different assets classes since not all investments will perform well at any given time.

Another strategy I employ involves holding dividend paying stocks and reinvesting those earnings back into the business. Dividends can generate regular income streams while also enhancing returns over years through compounding effect.

Therefore, by plugging dividends back in at the right moment in accordance with compound interest principles; which has potential for great multiplication of wealth over extended periods thus maximizing gains achieved from such investments

Another key to successful investing is simplicity. Complexity, I’ve found, does not always mean better returns. In fact, keeping my investment strategy simple and easy to understand has helped me stay disciplined and avoid making impulsive decisions.

Basically, there are a few things I consider when investing. One of them being that I invest today and do not procrastinate. Also, I control my emotions and do not base decisions off temporary market changes. In addition to this, I keep around a well-diversified portfolio while holding onto dividend-paying assets. Another thing is that I do not chase after the next big thing and keep my investment strategy simple.

These principles have guided me well in life so far – anyone can be successful with investments if they follow these principles!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @iammystical! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024