You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Ritzy Wedding and Reception

in Cent2 years ago

"If you are a God-fearer, would vast wealth increase faith or challenge faith?"

I think our Lord answers this question ...

Beyond that, while there are notable exceptions, history shows man does not handle wealth and prosperity well. I believe that is one of the primary reasons we have the Old Testament record ...

How about us? Have we "evolved?" Are we better than that? Are we different? I know my answers to my own questions ...

Sort:  

I think our Lord answers this question ...

Yes, I think He does. There's two stories I think of. I think about the parable of the seeds and ground, when thorns and thistles choke out the good fruit which comes from the WORD of God.

The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful.

I also think about Abraham and Lot, both very wealthy and righteous people. Abraham separated himself from Lot because he knew Lot desired more luxury and wealth than he needed and that Lot coveted the good land in the plain of the Jordan.

Now separate yourself from me. If you go to the left, I will go to the right; if you go to the right, I will go to the left." Lot looked around and saw that the whole plain of the Jordan toward Zoar was well watered, like the garden of the LORD, like the land of Egypt. Genesis 13:9-10

The one who stayed away from the deceitful luxury and wealth of Sodom was blessed, yet the other who was seduced by the deceitful luxury and wealth of Sodom was barely saved !ALIVE and lost everything.

@roleerob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ironshield. (16/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.