What a Doll…

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

The motherload of dolls has touched down at my shop Conquest Comics, and this one is a doozie. Collected up from a hoarders house, these dolls were saved from their certain future of a landfill and instead brought to my little comic and toy shop to find new homes.

When I say this collection is massive, that’s an understatement. Hundreds of random Barbie dolls with a peppering of similar style collectible dolls were brought in an attempt to salvage at least some of what was in this dumpster fire of a house.

CAD0E9C5-6A15-4F3A-9048-EA8B5D6AB45C.jpeg

I don’t know the exact specifics, but I know the house was filled floor to ceiling through from basement to upper level…with toys and collectibles…and trash…and clothes…and wet moldy stuff. Yeah…that’s the downside of this lot. Half of it comes from a wet and dank spot, so it holds onto a not so pleasant odor of musty basement. Yummy!!!!

We’ve been airing em out for about 2 weeks and now it’s time to start bringing some of these onto the sales floor. As I mentioned, there are TONS of pieces to go through but I’m starting with the dolls that kinda have some tie in to the shop. Therefore I separated the superhero, sci-fi, animated, and fantasy pieces from the lot as they might stand the best chance of moving quickly. I’ll tackle the others another day. Let’s see what we got…

CF859007-1DB4-4B66-A5D1-A6BA106A7738.jpeg

039085B8-8AB5-4888-A0BD-2294306C4A62.jpeg

4A7B2D8E-120E-409E-A24E-0C4212ED15A1.jpeg

First I took some disinfecting wipes and cleaned em off. You’d be surprised what a simple Clorox wipe will do to a toy that has sat in a moist room for years. I polished em all up, researched each one, slapped some stickers on em and now have to find room in my shop in which spare real estate is a hot commodity and rarely available. Fun!

I’m starting with these specific ones as they are in my opinion, most likely to go out of all the candidates. At least in my shop and at least at this moment. Maybe I move some of these to a buyer who expresses interest in other Barbies in which case I’ll show them the hoard in the back which consists of cheap $10-$20 dollar normal releases…all the way to special and limited pieces that fetch hundreds each like this one!!!

239C5BD6-D428-4AC4-9F51-3E92BD0B2714.jpeg

But those will come on time. For now, I’ll focus on moving these in the shop. Most of these shown above average $30-$50 bucks a pop but a few shown above such as the Lord of the Rings 2 pk typically fetched $150-$200 beans! Luckily there were 2 of those in this lot!

I honestly don’t know what we paid on a per piece basis as this collection came trickling in over a couple of weeks and included lots of other toys that I showed off the first time the seller came in.

https://hive.blog/hive-173630/@blewitt/action-figures-monster-haul

Since that day above, there were like 8 other batches that included comics, other toys, and more dolls. My heart breaks for the several dumpsters of toys and collectibles I was told were thrown out…let’s pour one out for those sad souls…

But onto happier topics like a per piece cost?!? I’d guess…and this is just a guess based off a rough estimation of how many pieces came in the lots, what we paid per batch…I’d guess that in the end each piece is costing us between $1-$3 bucks a piece which is simply outstanding.

I look forward to showing you some of the other gems we pulled from this collection including lots of GI Joes and a ton of killer comic books. I’ll get to those shortly.

Thanks for looking!!!

Chris

Sort:  

Beautiful dolls ☺️

Been a bit slack recently, and just checked out your previous post. You need another store to accommodate this hoard!!

Yeah man, it’s been crazy. Thinking I’m going to put a little video tour up this coming week.

That's a hell of a haul, man. Looks like you got some real gems in there. I bet your wife will even let you keep some of them for your "private play time" out in the storage unit. Where you have all the Razor comics, or so I've been told in years past. By you. ;)

Dude. The amount of Gauls we’ve pulled the past couple months would blow your mind…

Very lucky. Stocking up as there will be lean times.

As for the Razor comics…