The Big Yellow Dump Truck

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

The Good old days

This weekend was Rainy so it was all about the indoor activities.

So Sunday afternoon I was thinking while sat playing with my son building Lego and messing around, I realised I miss the Good old fashioned toys.

You know back when toys didn't need electronics or a digital screen to make them fun.

Simple toys that you could pass hours with outside and never get bored.

Now I think every little boy or girl has a favorite toy, and strangely enough my son has the exact same one as I did as a child.

An old school Yellow Tonka Dump Truck, Rusted battered and abused. you know the one, just as likely the damn thing will give you tetanus when your charging hell for leather around the yard with a load full of stones.


IMG_20211004_151747.jpg

See what I mean


IMG_20211004_151756.jpg


Old, Battered...


IMG_20211004_151805.jpg


Rusty.

My Tonka truck survived everything a kid could throw at it, off-roading, daredevil jumps, and invasions into enemy territory carrying explosive.(Firecrackers against the neighbour kids)

In the end it finally lost a fight with a much larger truck. A Ford F150 while carrying a load of precious cargo. I.E. My stolen I mean borrowed Hotwheels collection.

Tragedy, Disaster in its rawest of forms, the end of the world at that young age. The guy got outta his truck at least and said sorry in his own way.

'Keep yur fuckin toys off the road kid, coulda busted my tires.'.

Thanks buddy.

Lesson learned.
Adults can be dicks and even a Tonka can be broken.

Now My son has the same model of Tonka Dump Truck, metal, rusty, old and worn, SOLID.

He runs that thing around the yard like a lunatic, and he has a few equally battered Old Tonka toys and a slightly more modern dump truck he doesn't like as much. It apparently gets stuck in the mud more often.

IMG_20211004_151813.jpg

IMG_20211004_151820.jpg

See not sure why its inferior... It just is.

His least favourite was the Police car, it only ever saw use when one of the other trucks has been misbehaving. You know breaking the 6 year old Law Book. Which essentially amounts to anytime one of the other trucks causes an injury.

Such as sliding back down the slide to give him a bloody nose.

The police car was given away a few weeks ago to a kid that wants to be a copper. Go figure, Kids these days.

So now his fleet consists of 2 Dump trucks and an excavator. All old and a bit worse for wear on the surface.

IMG_20211004_151835.jpg

IMG_20211004_151852_1.jpg

This winter during his break we're going to pimp a one of his Tonka toys. The newer dump truck. New paint job, bit of bling and chrome work etc. But his old Dump truck?

Big Tonka, which is his name for it.

At one stage he tied a string to it and it briefly became pet Big Tonka. Yeah he's got a name and a personality too. That's the beauty of imagination.

Big Tonka...

That's sacred, He says its perfect as it is. To be honest I think I agree with him.

So That's what the game plan is as our little father son project this coming holiday break.

Spruce up the newer dump truck with some modifications and see how long they last. I'm sure it will end up looking worse for wear after a few weeks as well. After all They are made to be played with.

IMG_20211004_152012.jpg

Until that little project starts they will carry on living in an outdoor place, next to some concrete blocks and overgrown gravel. We call it the construction site.

A Big Thanks to Excy, Dumpy, and Big Tonka for posing patiently in the photos.


That's day 8 now, New Topics, New subjects.

I decided I'm going to have a bit of fun on this 30 posts in 30 days. I'm going to do a post 31, and a giveaway on the 31st post, cause some months have 31 days or so I've been told.

In spite of my rough and ready appearance I'm an Antique dealer I know I already said it.

So it'll probably be old shit in your mailbox.

Stay tuned and engage down below . For every post from day 1 if you comment on it you will get one entry and a chance to win.

Then at the end of the 30 posts, on day 31 There will be a random raffle you will get a chance to win....

Really cool old shit.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rubido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.
You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Bro you didn't see? There's zombies in the streets!! It's crazy (shotgun sound).

What the fuck were you doing?

What did I do during the zombie apocalypse, Well I was Playin with Trucks.

That would be such a cool short movie 😁

Every time I would go to TG&Y with my mother I got a new hot wheel. I never got a duplicate. My favorite were those but model airplanes didn't suck.

Not the picking them out part or the building them part or the playing with them part. I loved loading up freshly built model airplane with blackcats—twisted the detonators together and lit it.

Then throw it as high as I could.

I miss blackcats and red devils. I managed to get an M80 once and strapped it to a GI Joe my brother had. I think they're still finding pieces of him across the county line.

Hotwheels are awesome. Fact.

I can't tell you how many 'You need to take care of your toys or you won't have any' lectures I received due to my Tonkas ending up someplace that I no longer was at. Had to be the most common lecture of my childhood.

We didn't really have neighbors so ours were never subjected to fireworks. We just used liberated metal pipe as 'rocket launchers' and shot bottle rockets at our stepbrothers.

Got any antique recoilless rifles? That'd be just the thing to make any vehicle as fun as one of those old Tonka trucks 😎

Nah sadly no recoilless rifles just a few fairly Old shotguns. I think the Tonkas would probably end up breaking the sound barrier with the kick off them bad boys.

Bottle rocket launchers... How I still have eyes I will never know. 'Stop messin with that you'll put out an eye' That was my mommas favourite line.

Leavin your toys where you aint, that's a kids prerogative. Specially at the bottom of the stairs.

This is the best thing I've read all day.

Thanks for the comment and for stoppin by!

A pleasure!

We also had heavy-duty 70s-era Tonka toys during our childhood!!! My older brother had a yellow front end loader and I had a red fire truck. I think they are still somewhere here in our house. They made childhood great!!! Now I mostly collect DC and Marvel and other action figures and Star Trek ships and I blog about them once in a while.

Awesome, The Old Tonkas were the best. I got a friend who collects the Early Star Trek Action Figures and old promotional stuff. It looks like a cool hobby.

your old-school Tonka hobby is way cooler!

hahaha thanks I appreciate the compliment. When they turn up I cant resist grabbing them.