girl lost on victoriAn beach]

in Awakening Poetry4 years ago (edited)

image.png

I Thought the Gull a Drone

All viewing of the world is composite
Bones of ancient baleen whales, eukaryotes and quartz – all
A matrix forming the cliff

At first I think it is a drone
The pacific gull that soars the updraft
Mechanized systems mimic avian expertise
Robotics, virtual simulations, cybernetics
The animal becomes the machine
I have forgotten to see simply 'bird'
Transmuted, it is a feathered data complexity
Endangered, it once was ‘troo-ga-dil’
Captured in paint by an ornithologist on the First Fleet

And then the shame comes – nothing is pure anymore
Everything is layers of technology
The map is not the dreamed place but the layers of restaurants, cafes, bars
‘Find a chemist near me’
600 million unbiased traveller reviews
Share your location with others

The rain fell hard last night
Cliffs are due for a landslide, I ponder
Becoming part of two matrices -
The first, bones under ochre and clay nuzzled
Beside the jawbone of a plesiosaur, torn aluminium cans, fishing wire
A corroded vintage motherboard, plastic fish

The second is the augmented layer on reality
News feed: Girl missing on Victorian coast.

Sort:  

I recognize when I first saw the post I just upvoted without reading deeply. But now I came to read again and I'm glad I did. Or maybe a bit sad since it's a bit depressing how purity seems to be fading away. To deal with this I like to think that technology is just another expression of the same organic fractal energy that drives all existence. Perhaps all this decay is just a postmodern artwork from the divine. Well I rambled lol, great poem!

Thanks! I felt a bit of both when I wrote it.. shocked and sad that I saw the bird through a lens so used to augmenting life with tech, and fascinated at multi layered complexities of perception. It is one of my favourite published poems here. I might republish some when the communities start up again for those who missed them. I really appreciate you stopping by to read it properly and commenting too. Xx

@riverflows, I saw this piece just now and I have to say that you wrote very deep poetry and definitely you should continue with this work because your words are filled with the empowerment and depth.

I've created Awakening Poetry on Threespeak sometime back just to try, nothing planned. Hope that in future will figure out something good for this.

Have a wonderful time ahead and stay blessed.

What is the hashtag for this community?

This community was created to test the community option. It's a inactive community.

Have a great time ahead.

This poem is a beautiful piece.
It voices how technical the world has become without emotions..