You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What % of your Steem Power is now Hive Power?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

I bought in around 1500-1800 sats with it somehow miraculously being propped up still now!

Nice :)

I think I powered up 30k from last October - Feb, seems to have luckily turned out nice!

100k... 3 years ago I was looking at that total thinking if I can get there then I can retire. Add a 0 on and perhaps :D

Sort:  

I think I powered up 30k from last October - Feb, seems to have luckily turned out nice!

Same here! Little did we know what would unfold a few months later!

100k... 3 years ago I was looking at that total thinking if I can get there then I can retire. Add a 0 on and perhaps :D

I was working out how much HP I'd need to be on earning passively from leasing to have the same as national average salary and have crunched some numbers:

  • Currently I lease/delegate around 35k HP which gets me about 10 HP per day = £2 at 20p per HIVE.

  • Average UK Salary = £30,350 Source - broken down daily = £93.38 after tax with tax code 1250L Source

image.png

  • So for me, I'd need a 46.69x increase in daily payouts from delegation and leasing = 1.63 Million HP needed at today's rate giving 466.9 HIVE per day...

Conclusion... I won't be retiring any time soon 😃

haha :)

Nice number crunching even though the result is a little saddening.

It's 1.63 million HP, or we could hope the token price motors :) If Hive 10x's, then you would need 163k HP? That sounds possible?

Yeah I was little saddened with that too haha! Especially when I think I'm only 2.2% there 😆

But yeah, that's at today's price so if HIVE manages to 10x (and there's no reason why it shouldn't considering all the development going on) then you'll only need 2x your stack and me 4x which sounds a lot less daunting!

I think HIVE going 10x is more likely than me going 46.69x in any case 😂

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Or a 46.69x bump in HIVE price ;D

Haha! Well I wouldn't say no to that too!

£0.20 * 46.69 = £9.34 per HIVE... dare to dream? 😃

it would be about 25% up on the Steem ATH, so not out of the realms of possibility by any measure. I thinki that for most though, Hive will be a nice little additional revenue stream to help out or buy something little from time to time. If you were able to get 25% of the average salary a year through curation, would you be upset?

Yeah for sure it's a nice additional income stream but I know there's a few that have fed their families using income generated from HIVE - for example the Venezuelan community I think?

For me, it's probably going to be helping with buying music related things or maybe even contribute towards a holiday, who knows! Right now, I'm just accumulating what I can and powering it all up for the future, have done since I joined.

I definitely wouldn't be upset with 25% of my salary per year for curating content or at least delegating to accounts that have better skills than I do like curangel, curie, ocdb etc 😃

Quite a few have benefited heavily from it, but I live in the Nordics - so it has a fair way to go before it makes a dent :)

For me, it's probably going to be helping with buying music related things or maybe even contribute towards a holiday, who knows!

Wouldn't it be cool to buy tools of your trade with HIVE earned doing what you do?

delegating to accounts that have better skills than I do like curangel, curie, ocdb etc

I think as prices increase this could be more useful for most accounts. For now, I am happy curating and rewarding the comments that I get myself.

Haha, yeah Nordics is even more expensive than the UK which I didn't think was possible 😃

Wouldn't it be cool to buy tools of your trade with HIVE earned doing what you do?

The first aim of mine with this journey was always to be able to get the music essentials to pay for itself and can definitely start to see this vision materialise after 2.25 years - it's literally the coolest thing ever.

So grateful for the support and opportunity that HIVE has given, it makes you want to give back in whatever way you can hence the yourtop3 contest I co-run and delegating out to various curation guilds.

For now, I am happy curating and rewarding the comments that I get myself.

Keep doing what you're happy with, that's the thing I've learned around here!