azhardesk cross-posted this post in Ask the Hive 4 years ago


Do we see death coming before dying ?

This is a real story, that put me to ask this question. There were three character me, Jay-my domestic help, and his brother in law - Dev.

20200804222813_IMG_1458.JPG

It was quarter past 11 PM, I was about to go in sleep, when my phone bell rang. It was of my domestic help "JAY". At first I thought to ignore but then,something inside force me to pick it. (It was very unusual him calling at night) he lives on the ground floor of my 5 storey building.

In one breath, Jay said :

Bhaiya, niche aaiye ! (Brother come downstairs)

His heart pumping very hard, and he was gasping for breath, he was actually very nervous.

Calming him down, I asked,
what happened Jay? he said, his brother-in-law ("DEV") is not responding.
Dev is 19 years old and is staying with him in the two bedroom room set.

Dev was not well since morning, he was continously vomiting. Even Jay took him to nearby hospital, but they refused any admission as they need patients to get covid19 free certificate. But somehow with some influence,I manage to get an appointment with one doctor. He thoroughly checked Dev and advice some medication. They came back home at 8PM. Everything was fine till that time. As I also checked and enquired about his health before going to my room.

Anyhow, soon hearing disturbing voice of Jay over phone, I rush downstairs, only to find Dev lying on the floor. His eyes were closed,he was motionless and liquid flowing out of his mouth. I sprinkled water but his body not responding. I checked his nerve but it was not responding either. Then I feel coldness on my finger. That giving me a clear indication. He is no more!

Sequence of event.

Before I proceed to disclose about the Dev's sudden death, I asked Jay about the seqeunce of event in last 2 hours. He said it like this :

On returning from hospital, Dev took the medicine and then talk to everyone at his hometown. Including, his mother, father, brother, sister, his brother in law and every other member of the family. He was behaving normal but he did told everyone to come soon if they want to see him last time. As giving the indication that he would be dying at any moment. Jay ignored it, as he thought it to be a frustration due to excessive vomitting and weakness. Around 11 PM Dev asked Jay to take him to toilet, as he was feeling weak. The moment he came out of toilet, he fell on Jay arms..and took the last breath, without any other word spoken.

Trauma of 19 years old.

Dev was in the city, for his treatment. He was staying with Jay family, for the last 8 months. He has hole in heart since birth including,some kidney infection. He is only 19 years old. Whenever I saw him he looked to be very,lean, thin and weak. Excessive vomitting on the fateful day, did took an ugly turn and might have shaken him completelly within. That how I could narrate looking at all the event.

It was very sudden, as only on Sunday I watched helping the labour with light works at home.

Did he saw death coming ??

The last few hours as narrated by Jay, did indicates that Dev, did saw his death coming. His talking to family members and dear ones was quite unusual as he never talked like that before.
Its not only with Dev, I have many similar story earlier, where people.wish to meet and call their dear ones before closing the yes forever. Some may take 1 day or same few hours (as in case of Dev)

It was sheer pain on part of his parents who could not made to see his son last minute.

Later, It was decided to shift his dead body to his home town. I called the emergency helpline number and book an ambulance till Dev's native place. When he departed, I looked outside it was and empty lane, and there was no one outside. I checked on my mobile and it says 3.AM. To late to to go to bed.

IMG_20200610_011631.jpg

It was 5 hour journey and by the time I am writing this, his body already burned completely in the pyre.

Anyhow, The development of the last 2 hrs did give me a clear indication, that death do give some knocking before they take away with you breath and soul.
Dev final phone call to his parents and asking them to come over was very unusual, may be he saw something coming very fast and he wanted to.meet everyone.

What you think on this subject? I never had any other experince but watching a young man died suddenly does gives me goosebumps. Waiting to get your opinion on the question that might make people worry.

Stay Home....Stay Safe !!

Namaste @steemflow