What did you cancel today?

in Ask the Hive2 months ago

DSCF9340.jpg

While walking inside the bookstore, I found this tiny journal. It contains 365 questions that you can answer everyday and you can do so for 5 years. It was a really interesting concept and that's how I got it. Very worth it!



DSCF9345.jpg

The way it works is it has one page for a day that contains the question and 5 empty years so you can fill it out with no pressures in case you miss a year or something. The answer lines are not that long, so it is very encouraging to write something cos it doesn't pressure me to write long-ass paragraphs. I can even write just one word if I like.

Once December is done, I can just go back to January and answer the same questions but of course in every year, the answers would be different. Even if they stayed the same it would still be interesting. It would be so nice to be able to look back on my answers after many years.

The thing that I like as well is that the questions are not boring. Some of them require a lot of words to answer and some just very simple. I don't have to think about what to journal per day. :P



Today you cancelled ____.

DSCF9346.jpg

Yesterday's question was about the thing you cancelled. It can be anything really, a subscription, a celebrity, for me, my anxiety.

Since getting my ADHD diagnosis, I have figured out the cause for my anxiety. Apart from PTSD that I have which also causes anxiety in day to day life, I have other worries as well which is very unnecessary even on good days. Not those what if someone is gonna hurt me, or what if something happens and I need to get out of this building to survive types of anxiety (which hypervigilance is pretty much PTSD) but I'm talking about worries on very small things.

My worries in general include about not aligning the lines I make in my bullet journal properly, staining the bedsheet, forgetting to buy something at the grocery store, spilling my coffee, you know, those things that are so small and are very easy to fix. Yet I still worry about making those mistakes. I know now that it is my ADHD causing it cos I know I can get clumsy and if I make mistakes that means I have to repeat the task or it adds another task which is very boring to me that's why I avoid them at all costs.

I have LESS worries nowadays than before my diagnosis and it's such a big relief to me.

So, today, I am cancelling anxiety.

Well of course I can't just completely cancel it haha because anxiety is important for the human race cos that's what drives us to do stuff but you know what I mean! Aside from those tiny worries I have with everyday stuff, I also worry about work stuff. I care so much about my art that a lot of times I have to think and plan carefully what I'm gonna do. You can say Why can't you just create and not worry about what people will say??? That's being an artist!. That's so easy to say and I even try to think about that myself as well but before I couldn't figure out why.

I am very versatile. I know a lot of art mediums by now. I think of myself as "jack of all trades, master of none" type of person. It comes with a cost, of course... That means I have the intense desire to change art mediums once I am already able to get good at the current one or I lose interest in it.

I felt a lot of guilt for that because as an artist, it is important for you to master one medium and stick to it if you want to get popular or great at something. I mean, of course, it is given that an artist should be able to explore but a lot of them stay in one medium (and master it) for years before they try to do something else. Like, that's the ideal for me if you know what I mean. But I've never been able to do that really.

Because of my ADHD I get bored SO EASILY of my art medium and even art style. I know pencil drawing, charcoal drawing, oil painting, acrylic painting, a lil bit of sculpture, video making, photography, screenwriting, digital painting, a lil bit of animation. I got a lot of gigs especially with video making in the past and I even thought of enrolling myself in film school at some point... seeing myself at the Oscars or some shit haha. But now that desire is kinda gone.

But yeah... that worry is just so unnecessary! Just create anything you like then??? Yes. That's what I'm gonna do from now on. Why spend time thinking when I can just spend time creating??? With medication right now my mind became so clear and I can see clearly how much time I'm wasting just thinking about those.

So yep. Anxiety, gtfo cos you're cancelled! 😂

I don't deserve to put myself in a cage that I myself created. :P



What about you, what did you cancel today?

Sort:  

interesting questions

I got one of these some years ago, sadly I never made it through the first year, but I think it's definitely a very good concept

I don't write everyday either, but I still like writing answers for days at once just cos of the unique questions haha.

I'm so proud of you. Everything you been through you deserve to be free from this anxiety and lived peacefully ♥️

Thank you madam <3

Thats a great book to keep the mind busy, about the question today was a good day because din't cancel anything!

  • few weeks asking job.
  • several health troubles.
  • getting more insane everyday.

Some of the stuffs on my mind.

But not today!


This week find a job and Today finished the whole work for now, all paint work done for 5july.

You have a clear goal and that's okay. You will be able to at some point and it will be worth the wait. :D

World iala Bond G 💪🏻⚡

Why spend time thinking when I can just spend time creating???

True, if the other don't work then try next, until you try it all that you can try. In the end, you'll get good and lot of good skills, and isn't that more amazing, to have more than 5, 6, or 10 skills. I just hope they don't mixed in - but wait, even if it did I'm sure you can create something out of it. To have more is cooler ✨✨.

But so glad you cancel that "anxiety" it's not needed so sayonara na for good. And now you have more peace than yesterday. That book is is so cool ha. I feel like checking it on shoppee, baka lang meron 😜✨.

As for me i cancel panic attack, just a moment ago when I thought something will come out on my nose again, a red and stinky liquid, omg.

It is amazing tho, I can be reliable on those skills and also I may not use them a lot but time comes that I need those skills at some point. So it is still very useful lol. They do mix sometimes, which can create confusion still cos I can't just "focus" on one medium haha. It's not consistent.

Better to check on Shopee for the discounts. This was not cheap T_T

Oh no. Does that happen often? Have you been checked for that? Definitely cancel that. Although I know it's not easy cos most (if not all the time) you can't control it.

See, it eventually become really useful, so more discovery pa and creation, kaso this may become a habit nalang and until you stop seeking what's really your medium. But isn't that cooler, coz as least, the unique creation will continue, and you might discover more and more, luhhh, baka genius na maging labas mo if ever maka create kanang something unique by mixing them, ehe.

I think three weeks ago was the last time. I think it is more on my mind, my mind is the problem coz I just overthink when I feel something in my nose 🙄

What did I cancel today?

Giving time and effort to people not worth it! Decided better do not respond as it would only create more conflict. So cancel her, stop talking for the peace of mind.

And hope you are getting better na.
Smile!

Good!!! A lot of those energy wasted for those who don't appreciate it, and probably even stir some drama for their entertainment. Better use that energy elsewhere.

I am, thank you! I hope you are too. At peace at yourself now. :D

Thats something to cancel everyday, good one bro. 💪🏻⚡

Today... Nothing.
But on June 1st, I cancelled Procrastination.
Been a regularly lazy person, and although I'm not changing to John the hard worker overnight, I am trying to at least minimize the stress and do everything early, instead of pushing it to later on !BBH

That's a good thing to cancel! It does take a while to do stuff regularly but you can do it. Best of luck!

Since I was a child I have experienced anticipatory anxiety, I still deal with it as an adult and I now have it under control; Since I learned the fact that we cannot have absolute control over the things around us and accept the facts as they are, I have been finding that peace and confidence step by step.

I would say that in my case it is more a doubt about "what will be" that torments my state a little bit and leads me to procrastinate.

I am very calm and peaceful rn, many of my friends are surprised at how calm im even though there is a lot of noise around.

I would say more that what breaks us is a doubt.

Ohh this is so cool. Love the idea of that little journal (And look how cute it is!!!). Hmm. Today I canceled the negative mood home repairs put me in and rebalanced :D

Hmmm. I think that's a good idea, canceling anxiety. Sometimes I get that too especially with work stuff.

Haven't cancelled anything today but last yr I cancelled my lukewarmness in the faith. Like truly got rid of it. So now my way of removing anxiety is by praying.

I realized St. Padre Pio did get it right when he said: