You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Has Hive Not Achieved "Mass Adoption"?

The reason I suggest burning Hive or as you suggest give more support to passive investors is to reduce the amount of utter nonsense posts made to simply skim rewards.

I don't see a lot of rewards going to utter nonsense posts. I have no numbers, though, which is why I can't say for certain that this isn't the case. But I'm not even sure what you mean by such a post. I don't follow low-quality posters but when I go to a Community like Gems or Photography Lovers, I see a lot of not so great posts getting very little in the way of rewards.

I get the feeling that eliminating bid bots and discouraging vote trading was done too soon, let's face it most people are just making content simply for rewards and quality is lacking.

Now I'm not following you. How would the nonsense post situation be better if the Economic Improvement Proposal causing the bid bot industry and vote trading to die hadn't been implemented last September? Before September 2019 a much larger proportion of the author reward pool was allocated in a completely content agnostic manner than now. I recall Trending being of much lower quality back then. When the free downvotes were introduced, I spent some time cleaning up Trending myself. The standards are much higher when it comes to the larger rewards than now.

We need another option until there are tons of high quality posts. Too many rewards going to junk.

I don't really know what you're talking about. Can you give me some examples to help me understand what you mean?

And even if it were the case that there is such a dearth of very good posts that a lot posts get rewarded too well, then shouldn't that make it easier for high-quality posts to reap the rewards?

I will repeat what I said earlier about introducing system like a Maker DAO on Hive to attract passive investment. That, and not killing inflation would work better in attracting passive investment, IMO.

We're still too centralized in terms of token distribution. There is no way other than inflation to improve it. Tokens need to end up in the hands of more holders.

Speculators do not mind annual inflation in the single digit percentages so long as the price swings are 100x as they have historically been. For them, the ability to time the market trumps any minuscule gains to be made by staking rewards.