You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If the person you most cared for died, would you be content with the way you have treated them?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

Three years ago, my father died too. My father died with the certainty that I loved him beyond my bones. But if there's one thing he would have blamed me for now, it's prolonging his agony. I did my best to keep my father alive, even if he was intubated. I know that in that moment he took more of my pain than his pain and that I was very selfish. He who dies does not suffer, but rather rests. Those of us who remain in life suffer from missing that being that we will never again embrace or see. The heart knows when we are good and doing the right thing. I embrace you, @tarazkp. Greetings

Sort:  

That is something we avoided (special thanks to @galenkp) as it is definitely not what my father would have wanted. There is a cultural element to this as well where there are all measures taken to prolong life , but I don't agree. My father always said, he never wanted to be a vegetable, he'd rather die - and the entire family knew his wish.

It is never an easy decision though as no one wants to feel the sense of loss, nor feel they didn't do all they could.

hugs

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.