You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where are you from and what's the general outlook on crypto/blockchain there?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

I live pretty close to the Bullseye of America.

As a survivalist/bushcrafter/off-gridder and Voluntaryist I both like and am weary of what crypto brings to the table.

I was first turned onto Bitcoin for the claim of Decentralization. I was a huge critic and argued with every claim. My questions couldn't be answered satisfactory and still haven't been. I turned out to be correct. Crypto has not managed to eliminate the bottleneck of the control it promised.

I understand that my definition of Decentralization is a bit on the purist side, but partial decentralization doesn't equal decentralization.

I jumped on board for no other reason than to profit from the growth I saw in 2017. Of course it was too late by the time I bought in, so didn't make much. I'm currently a hodler, not a trader. This goes for all coins I own.

As for it being able to replace paper or physical value, the prepper side of me sees many problems with digital currency. What happens when shit hits the fan?

Sure, there's paper wallets, cold storage and other ways to use it offline, but you cannot use something not accepted by the masses as payment. If it was accepted, would it still be viable after life returned to normal? How can I send a fraction from an address in my paper wallet? I can't...

The former question depends on the issue, how long it lasts and...if the grid can handle the energy waste when it goes back up.

So, for me its only use is to earn from investing in the present/short-term. In the future I don't think it'll be what sticks and becomes the norm. It also isn't much good if a disaster plagues the Earth. Think EMP's, a nuclear winter or in the even there's no electricity available. I can't send a bitcoin to pay for clean water if a hurricane wipes out the grid and my phones dead.

It's cool for now, but adoption will be with something much different in the medium to distant future, imo.

As for the general outlook? No one here has heard of it other than from me. Even if they have, they believe it's too complicated to deal with.