Why are some shit posts getting more rewards than good posts?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

Let me apologize at first to the community admin @acidyo, because my post is going to be broad. I don't know if I'm going to break the rules below.

No loaded questions with your bias/opinion already in the body or title

And secondly, I apologize to some more people (Whose posts I read regularly) whom I am tagging in this post. I really want to see their opinion as a senior on this blog.

shitpost.png

Let's hope at the main point.

Today I made a funny comment on someone's post. But I was not ready for the reply I got. It was a reply from a frustrated user.

hive.JPG

Her complaints about the hive community were severe. Although most of them were unreasonable, I countered them. I tried to motivate her, as well.

hive reply.JPG

But some complaints I could not ignore. Really!

I have seen this in a few communities. Let me quote it again, in a few communities. Some users and curators work in a circle, and provide upvotes for their own posts from their own curation trail.

If the post was excellent, that was one thing. But whatever it is in the post, day after day some shit posts are getting non-stop big rewards.

But there is no better post evaluation in the same community. Other users are struggling with better posts.

When a blogger analyzes all day and posts a great picture, video, drawing, or research, and sees that the lousy post is getting a much better response than that. Can you think of his state of mind then?

Nothing but frustration. And at the end of the day, the Hive will lose a talented blogger because of this frustration. Bad posters will remain in his place with his continuous shit-posts.

It looks like for the first time, I'm going to get a lot of downvotes.

I have been saying what I have learned from my analysis. I could be wrong. So I want to know your opinion on this matter.

So my final questions are -

Why are some shit posts getting more rewards than better posts?

Is Hive Blog taking any action in this regard?


Special Tag - @abh12345 @delilhavores @tarazkp @syedumair @themarkymark @theycallmedan

Sort:  

Sadly, the posts are primarily about harvesting the rewards pool. It is the inherent weakness in the model.

The rewards have never been enough to fund the creation of content, but there is a constant pressure to pump out posts. This creates a motive to create low quality posts and to upvote them.

Hi @pitboy, you are a new user here and the question you are asking yourself is more than legitimate.
I will try to give you my vision of the facts.
First of all, not everyone likes the same content and this was predictable, also the fact that you are a new user and nobody knows you.

Now let's move on to the real reasons why shitty posts earn more than better posts.

1 * many whales only vote for visibility, don't hope for some of these votes.

2 * many whales vote for curation, therefore obtaining a reward from the vote they give, this implies the non-interest in the quality, but exclusively in the return that they can have

3* the distribution of power, and by power I mean care trails, proxies and delegate, is in the hands of a few users who can decide to move large quantities of voting at one time, if you do not fall within their friendships, do not hope to receive these votes.

4* read @littleboy's message

All reasons seem legit. I think this is the time for me to find some whales and make friends. 😛

I sometimes tried to fall within their friendship. But that's the one thing I failed to do. I can't just make friends for rewards, that sounds so wrong. I am who I am. Making friends shouldn't be depended on money or other benefits.

If I don't get a vote because of this, so be it. Thanks for your answer, mate.

yes I understand very well what you mean, we must be the first to change the system!
https://hivesigner.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=discovery-it&approve=true consider voting for us as witness!

I've been noticing for a while, you guys are doing a spectacular job. Voted! :)

Mi mamá dice que plata llama plata pero tomaré esa afirmación y la aplicaré poder llama poder así que invertir en mi poder para crecer y así sentir que uno va ascendiendo porque mi intención es aprender de ustedes y los consejos son para tomarlos

Hi! Thanks for the tag. I'll tell you my vision of things.

First of all, I would say that not all communities are equal. For example, we at Discovery-it, being a very small community, carefully select the posts that receive curation. This is because the trail rating is not high and we like to focus on quality content, giving space first of all to new users who demonstrate their commitment.
A community that, on the other hand, is huge in size and has a high trail rating, surely can afford to support more people!

Unfortunately, on Hive I also noticed that a lot depends on one's friendships, but it is also true that each of us can do something to improve in this, it is not necessarily a bad thing. For example, if today you start following users you didn't know before, you will surely increase the possibility of interacting with them and, slowly, your circle of friendly users will increase.

Regarding the shit posts that receive the most rewards, there is also another important aspect. In fact, what may be good for me may not be good for another curator. This is how society works.

I hope I have been exhaustive, have a nice day :)

First of all, I would say that not all communities are equal.

You are right, not all communities are equal, and I already mentioned it in the post.

Unfortunately, on Hive I also noticed that a lot depends on one's friendships.

That's what I am talking about. This is one of the main reasons why shitty posts are getting lots of votes. I think this trend should be changed for the sake of this awesome Hive community.

Thanks a lot for your time, dear. Have a beautiful day too. :)

Because hive's core functionally is still the same as steem.

I see! That makes sense.

I think many people have made friends with other people and they regularly upvote each other. There has been a shift in the culture but it will have to continue if we are to see valuable posts consistently getting good rewards and shitposts getting nothing.

Changes to the blockchain protocol may also help a great deal. If curation is even more incentivized, then less people will blog and they'll focus on curation instead. And people will blog if they have something valuable to say. Or at least we can approximate that outcome more and more with better protocol rules.

When I go to my homepage, I feel good. Because there are really useful posts coming in the trending section. But when I go to certain communities, I feel uncomfortable. It seems they are not doing what they should be doing.
I'm afraid if the number of shit posts and rewards for such shitty posts increases, it will not bring good output in the long run for Hive.

Thanks for your time!

You have to build audience to get rewards like other users.

I see that's the hardest part here. Even after posting quality contents. I think it's the time to make some good friends. :)

Thanks for your comment.

Bueno la verdad es que aún estoy muy nueva para opinar en tan delicado tema, pero de seguro tal situación desanimaría al autor que pretende hacer grandes publicaciones de calidad si ve que nos más votados algunas mediocres, pero la verdad es que una amiga le corregí un detalle de error tipográfico y no ortográfico y me dijo ok perro es que normalmente los post no los leen y menos las ballenas y yo sorprendida le dije aaaaa pero en mi interior se debatía la duda votar por votar sin leer?? Sería la respuesta a porque consideras que la votaciones de post mediocres reciben tantos votos, pero yo pienso que no es el deber ser, como comentas sino estás leyendo o es que acaso es votar por votar ??? Yo encontré literaturas tremendas e interesante, lastima que mi voto aún no es determinante pero al menos me tomo la molestia de leer, ya con ese gesto muestro respeto ante tu esfuerzo, que si mi vote no es de ballena ni tiene gran valor económico pero que te sirva de un estimulante, que el comentario ases como un bálsamo refrescante que te impulse a continuar y sea como un renuevo en tus escritos.

People don't realize You are not entitled to an audience, you must earn it.

This is no different than any social media, in fact on Hive it is easier than any social media I have ever seen. Typically only 0.1% are able to build a real audience.

That's why I tagged a senior blogger like you to get the Perfect Answer and be motivated. Thanks a lot.