Do you distribute random upvotes in Hive and what do you think who don't?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

The question may sound wired. But to be honest I've seen many who are using this platform very calculative. They are very calculative in terms of 'upvoting', who to vote, and when. Well, I'm not gonna judge them whether this is right or wrong because we are using this same platform for various reasons and in different ways. But this always makes me uncomfortable and makes me feel dumb actually.

feedback-1977987_1280.jpg

I agree that we should have a strategy about how to use this platform, how to get the best out of it. Also, as our voting power is limited and most of us want that to be higher than 80%, I guess, so it's not possible to vote everyone we come across or want to vote. But if all of us only vote the person who gets high payout as rewards, who have a high reputation or the whale account who have high voting power to earn more curation rewards from them, then I'm not sure how this platform will be. How the new users will survive, how people will feel interested to join here, how we can make this a social media type platform if we choose not to vote randomly!

Moreover, before joining Steem I was learning about it like voting and all and have seen this in many videos that 'don't distribute random votes, use your voting power wisely, only vote people with higher reputation/higher payout, only vote the top user' and something like this. After joining here (Steem), I sort out that I shouldn't follow those and they actually doesn't make any sense to me. I'm here to enjoy and make something out of my spare time and I should distribute love and support. That's what I understand.

On the other hand, I must say that I know there are many who votes randomly. I'm the one who is blessed to come across them, getting the love and support. And I also try to be the one. I consume a lot of content here and I love this. I wouldn't say all I do is to vote people randomly but I do vote posts if it looks interesting, worthy ie. And it gives me a good feeling. I don't have huge voting power but a single cent can make someone smile. At least that's how I feel.

I would love to know your opinion on this!

THANKS FOR YOUR LOVE AND SUPPORT!

Much Love


Who I am?
I'm a Happy and Proud stay home Mom of a toddler boy.
I'm a life & nature enthusiast, I love to learn human psychology, I'm a 'Book worm' and very introvert but also love to travel. I'm trying to live mindfully and most importantly, I'm a positive learner.

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter Discord

Proudly supporting

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn3kLhX4mFyfEDYop.png

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9bTqisvs9xgB75G9xPgZbPT4QuApQtpz6ThdHJ584iLp3K2DCBSTkTAky9Uw1ambwSjhpTFxnMpgTQk62VyQomsFW7g.png

MINDFULLIFE.png

ecotrain-banner3.png

Sort:  

I spread the love through upvotes as much as I can. I feel like it is unfair to just stick with only autovotes and not support content creators around

That's what I also feel.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Well Many big boys already do only auto vote but as for me I hardly do that, I feel a lot of people needs support and I'm actually spreading the support.b

I know about that that's why it always make me feel uncomfortable. There are lots of controversy about auto votes and the culture is changing. I'm really hopeful.
I know you do.. keep up your good work.
Have a great day!

Thanks for your stunning contents as always. Cheers

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @deepu7 on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Hi @rem-steem My vote is small as I'm only a Minnow. But as a member of the Terminal, I have seen the Redfish Rally in action to help new accounts. As part of the staff helping to coordinate the Redfish Rall each month, our primary focus is to help new accounts grow when they enter our Monthly Delegation contest where they earn while they learn how to be productive members of Hive.

In teaching them this concept, we stress engagement with many people. Their votes are smaller than mine. Often the have less than 100 HP in their wallets. But we tell them to step out of their comfort zone and engage with others, meet new people, and vote whenever they can quality content of other small account. In essense, help each other to grow. Don't just vote for your friend, and in turn, they vote for you. But search the Communities and topics of interest to you and engage with others there.

And in our Terminal discord, our primary concern is to help support the Redfish. I can say it's working, and I'm happy to see it. The Redfish in turn see the value of this, and can then go out onto Hive platform and continue.

Nice to engage with you. It's been a while. Take care, and stay safe.

Great to know your initiative. It sounds amazing.
newcomers actually get confused about how to engage and everything. You said it correct, no matter what our vote value is we should vote. My vote value is also not high and it was like 0.01 when I start here. But I voted. And that's what necessary to show support.
Good to talk to you. See you around.
Have a nice day!

You too. Take care, and stay safe.

I prefer to browse and see what actually interests me and vote and comment , possibly re blog if it's really good. There are alot that do just upvote and they are in the blockchain for their own reasons I guess. I have no problem with any action thats a positive one. For me though I feel honestly voting on what you like or is of interest to you will also help you grow a community within a community. This can only help you in the long run. I am enjoying this platform immensely.

That sounds like a good manner. Supporting communities and others is always good. As I was saying I don't judge anyone but it really hurt sometimes to see selfish people around.
I guess I never come across you.
Well, nice to meet you, see you around!

I'm always around :) reach out anytime. I love to see whats out there and the best way is just keep it real. You like it and you are recharged, vote. You love it re blog it and maybe say hi and tell them. Best way for this to grow

nice to meet you too. Don't be a stranger :)reach out anytime

Loading...