You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you were given $100,000 to invest in something for three years before being able to sell, what would it be?

Well it's obviously property for me! I've got no plans on selling my house, and that's where most of my wealth is, even though I don't count it when I track it.

I think you probably already know how I'm diversified - besides property it's roughly 50% shares, 20% P to P, 15% cash and then 15% crypto, although the crypto is now more like 50% of my wealth, or something like that, It's hard to tell with all these fluctuations.

If I had $100K right now I'd spend...in order of priority...

$60K on some land in Portugal, $10K to kick start a building project.
$10K on crypto of which 40% on Hive and then 50% on - BTC/ ETH/ LTC evenly and probably 10% to max out some of my Splinterlands cards
$7K in the bank just to spend, I'd probably put £1000 on some crazy accumulators once the sport starts back up.
$8K to spread across shares/ commodities/ P2P, although I might hold off buying shares.
$5K to pay someone to professionalize and SEO my Revise blog.

Hands down, it's land as the priority.

Sort:  

I really wish the post didn't blow up on me when I moved that image in, as in the first text I was clearer that you get one asset, not all this very sensible diversification business!

The majority is on land, although not in the UK. I know you are interested in Portugal anyway, but land/property in the UK at present, not looking good on a 3 year time-frame?

Good luck with your set-up :)

If I didn't have a house already, I'd probably hold off for a little while. I can imagine prices would go down in the medium term.

If we get inflation and interest rate rises, that's a sure sign to wait!

With all the uncertainty, even more of it, coming, I'd definitely use that $100K to buy something that gives me some stability - land, a well, a house, some food, wifi, sorted!

I'm still waiting, 20 years now :)

You could get all that for 100k in Portugal?

@eco-alex has been quoting figures of £3-£7K for basic land in the central region.

Very cheap sounding. Would like to be a bit further south though, or it might end up feeling too much like home :)

Not at all - I've had my eye on the region for ages - Penamcor region - there was a Permaculture community around there I was looking at heading out too, funnily enough called 'The Hive' - it's since folded but now by extreme coincidence there's Hive people moving out there and settling - lots of little plots of land for sale by the locals - building regs might be an issue of course, but I think it's the only region where a low impact living strategy is going to be feasible for a very low price.

it is very British/ looking, but a bit dustier and with olive trees, and enough rain. Given what I want to do, crucial. And good internet too, apparently.

A strange coincidence indeed, could be a sign!

Olive trees and good wifi, now we are talking :)