to shift one's behaviour

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

640pxShift_key.svg.png

when writing i prefer not using uppercase letters at all. hence, all i do write tends to be written in lowercase letters. not having to press the shift key is quite convenient. my gf believes i should start using uppercase letters though. she says it looks like i don't know how to write correctly. she thinks that what i do write has a lesser impact when only using lowercase letters.

so, here i am, brand new to this community, brand new to hive, and brand new to blockchain technology, considering whether or not to start using that shift key again.

any input?

Sort:  

This trick worked for ee cummings, but it never caught on. The people who tried to copy cummings were just seen as pretenders.

The standard mix of upper and lower case improves reader comprehension. So, using standard grammar rules shows respect for the people who are curating the content.

Since a large number of posts are written by people who speak English as a second language, there is toleration for grammatical mistakes. I don't know if it extends to intentional mistakes.

The person who reads English as a Second Language needs to translate the text. Capitalization provides clues for translation. Removing the clues given by capitalization just makes their job harder.

The people who curate content on the forum read a ton of posts. I usually scan four posts for each post I upvote. Personally, I wouldn't bother reading posts written in lower case, but you will find some people who love mavericks.

You might get a following of people who love the fact that you don't abide by the rules. The trick worked for ee cummings.

Good luck on Hive

Thanks for your feedback.

I didn't even know about Mr e e cummings. And to be honest, it's more important to get the message across than being a person trying to be original, just being a copy cat.

of course, i could try to come up with my own style. there is, however, a reason why there are standard rules in writing. it is easier to read and to curate.

So, I believe I will start listening to both the feedback I've gotten here and my girlfriend.

Hive is interesting. Heaps I don't understand.

YOU SHOULD JUST WRITE USING UPPERCASE LETTERS ALL THE TIME LOL

Seriously though, don't do that. Using proper punctuation if you're a native English is easier to read for me. Lower case only is obviously much better than upper case only :) uppercase reads like you are SHOUTING

If you're too lazy to press shift you can use Grammarly free extension in Chrome and it effectively does it for you. Fixes your grammar. Especially useful for work emails etc

Hehe. Yes, Grammarly is a great tool. I'm actually using it, and I was fighting it all the time since I used lower case letters. Now, as I have changed my mind about this behaviour, I don't have to any longer. It's a win.

In my opinion, the Upper Case letter should be present in the writing, when starting a new line which will make your content presentable. Now you might ask why the content should be presentable, the thing is people tend to read more when the content is interesting and if presented well.

Thank you. I do see your point. I've already started using the shift key again. And, I reckon I will update my original posts and add some uppercase letters.

That's great.

Informally you can write anyway...but when you are formally or an official..do follow the writing decorum....the better it is..the more expressive one could be...

Thanks for your feedback. I believe I've decided starting using the shift key again.

It was nice getting some views on this. As well, it was nice trying to post to a community. As new to Hive and blockchain, it's a tad overwhelming all that is new. A "like" button with a percentage slider from 0 to 100%?! New to me. I do have some more reading to do to understand this. That is, however, another discussion.