Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

People who don’t give a fuck about rewards and will comment how they truly feel on articles as opposed to people trying to be polite and get a cheap upvote.

The comment sections are usually more entertaining than articles on most news/media sites but not on Hive. Everyone tries to be so PC and kiss ass on here. I do it too and I hate myself for it.

I use to love reading the comment sections on ESPN ... then they took them away and the site got boring.

Perhaps we can turn comment curation into a thing? I've been curating comments more and more. Upvote whichever comments suit your taste - long, short, witty, whatever. :) If people know that a lot of people are curating comments, I think we'll see a lot more engagement.

Rewarding comments would catalyze the interactivity and boost the whole platform. But still one would replicate the same problem, when it comes to payment people say what they think, that you want to hear. Like prostitutes or those girls marrying 90 year old men. Its their job to say nice things and this is defined by the wallet. The valuable thing of YouTube for example is, that there are true unfiltered opinions, this is why politicians want to censor it. Here people have to fear repression. Downvotes (for personal reasons) made the number of steem users even go down further, whats left are people who are much older than on YouTube/Twitter/Reddit/ and those who are compliant.

That might be the case, but it also might be that honest comments get rewarded. I myself would upvote what I perceive as honest comments. And comments that I think bring something valuable. Being polite and saying things people want to hear doesn't occur to me as valuable.

Also, with SMTs, there will be more ability for communities to reward content that they consider valuable, and people without a lot of stake in that SMT wouldn't be able to downvote and remove those rewards.

Good debate guys! I often think about this very subject. I remember when Steemit first started, and I was campaigning for comment rewards, as I believed, and still do, that comments can really increase the value of a post.

However, it is a double-edged sword, without comment rewards, you'd probably get more honest comments, however maybe you'd get less.

Then again, people are more likely to comment on a high value account's post, because they know that just one vote from that account, could give them more than an actual post.

I've seen this with my own account, when it was high value, I got an average of about 30 comments per post, these days I'm lucky to get 3 or 4.

Maybe more people would comment if they knew there was one or more comment curators, who knows? Interesting though, as it is ultimately human behaviour, which in itself is fascinating!

Cg

again, people are more likely to comment on a high value account's post, because they know that just one vote from that account, could give them more than an actual post

This!

@borislavzlatanov

Being polite and saying things people want to hear doesn't occur to me as valuable.

exactly! because it is not valuable, controversy and honesty delivers new knowledge. So many memes were born on reddit, 4chan, twitter, youtube comment sections and not a single one on Steemit.

As you probably know, Reddit went crypto yesterday and has introduced two ERC20 Token (Moon for the Crypto Thread and Brick for the Fortnite Gamers)

Same number of Tokens as HIVE but hardcaped and airdropped to those who already have contributed their life (probably the best years of their life) to the sub-communities. Much more organic. How to emulate this on Hive?

We have already enough tokens on the HE/SE, why wait for SMTs?

I agree 100%.

waits for upvote

I see what you did there.

Great points here. People here are fake nice alot of the time rather than just letting rip. I know I have gotten into a few debates here about Covid, and people dont like it and it doesnt get me any upvotes lol, but i would rather share my hones thoughts than share some BS for a few cents.

Working on something that you might like for that then. Stay tuned.

I am intrigued. 🥳

Look at my comment on this post. Relates to that.

I can´t confirm this in the German community, Europeans maybe generally are more direct and not so into this "sugar coating"

An honest question, why would people do that here? Centralized social media invested hundreds of millions on their networks to capture people's attention and willingness to do so over there. They also invested in marketing as there was no tomorrow since they already knew the revenue they will get for their users personal data... They created apps, games, drove celebrities people from all ages follow by paying them to promote and use their networks... So why people would do that here instead of there?

I think this issue will get better with time. The more people sign up, the less likely you end up commenting on posts with the same people. Right now, we are all automatically forming relationships while in youtube comments you never see the same guy twice.

That’s a good point.

There are a lot of people here who have been rejected from mainstream social media.
There are a lot of people just here for the rewards.
Combine the two and yup, what you said.

  • Crypto babes
  • SEO orientated content
  • 2 digits before the decimal in $ price

Oh, and a nice shiny front door. I see there is a proposal to advertise with Brave adverts which I think is not a bad shout. But where do we link to?

An Appics Clone!!!!

I hear there's one in progress.

SMT's

Why?

i think smt would be nice, because this give another Tool to the Hive Toolbox. Some Devs can build something out of it we dont think about yet.

But i also fear a lot of shitcoins will be made and spam the hole system.

it is also a double-edged sword.

So i think super easy onbording with codes from RC Account tickets would be a big thing. I would love to onboard a lot of POE and RTS players. I think there will value Hive. But at the moment it sucks to easy onboard them.

@xxxxxxxxxx you can give the curse network a look. There build Forums for a lot of computer games like World of Warcraft, Hearthstone, League of legends, .....

The Users on this sites get nothing for there content Millions read. So i think Gaming guides would work close to perfect with the current 7 days reward time. Because there is only a timezone from some month people read it in masses.

I would also love if onboarding works super easy some Sponsor program for Onboarding. Something like get rewarded to show the world how awesome Hive is.

This would bring more Devs, End User and Content creators in the Hive Eco-System.

You have summed up very well, SMT's is just for people to show what HIVE is capable of. And more and more features HIVE will have, more investors will be coming in.

Because that will help a lot of apps to come under Hive ecosystem, I know there is Hive-engine, but more than that SMT's will be sold to apps outside Hive ecosystem.

Hive-engine is trash. I'm just not convinced apps need SMT's.

To convince you, I can say that apps need SMTs if the current Hive token does not solve their problem. Though might ne some apps need to control everything like their power down, inflation and for them SMTs is the good fit.

SMTs are needed by companies that want to build rewarding systems of their own for their websites like Reddit has done with an ERC-20 token. Hive is completely superior to Ethereum when it comes to facilitating a large number of small transactions. That's how you could onboard users in much larger chunks than by trying to get them to use Hive front ends one by one.

Your imagination is very limited. SMTs can be used for way more things than the uselessness we've seen with HIVE engine.

Creating a coin with an inflation and designing the right sinks to burn it, in a game for example, will provide great usecases. Or even just use inflation and back the token with half of the app revenue.

It allows developers to ICO their own token for their own platform and for their own specific purpose, tweaked with inflation rates and special sinks.

Not everyone wants to integrate HIVE. HIVE is the RC token.

Hard and soft currency like a mobile app. Hard could be sold, even be pegged and restricted however. Can keep track of user balance on blockchain.

wow I have written the exact same comment without seeing this first... xD

No / SMTs are just a buzz word!

Women I'd say.

I'd be surprised if more than 30% of the active users here or people who went to meetups or steemfests were women. Not saying it's a problem as men and women often have different interests. Just an observation/guesstimation

All the women are on TikTok.... I am getting them to join Hive. One at a time.

Sliding Into DMs: 100

Fair play to you, hard task to get active users on to the site

I agree with this.

This is because the user base here has such a high concentration of early adopter types/techies. The women will come once the usability of Hive apps is improved to resemble mainstream apps to a greater degree.

Weird, most users I interacted with on Steemit and Whaleshares have been women. On Hive admittedly it has been more men lately, but I'm not that active right now.

Hive needs more flashy shit! The masses are not into consuming long articles. They want short videos and sexy imagines. If developers focused on creating dapps like instagram, tik tok, youtube, ....that fuctioned smoothly and also had a clean UI ...hive could attact more people.
IMO most people consume content for that dopamine blast. You get that from apps like instagram.
✌️

Twitter clone.

Twitter is rubbish, but people love it, so good point

tl;dr - apps for Karen

===============
A variety of user friendly dapps. Things that are fun to use and have nothing to do with Hive itself or governance. Fun apps that just happen to run on a blockchain. Blogs, games, messaging, team productivity.... all of that. There isn't nearly enough. So many dapps trade on the fact that they're dapps. For me and you, that's hella cool, but Karen dgaf

Karen's gonna ask for the manager two seconds into it.

Exactly. On 3speak, she'd be fine. She'd get the manager

On Hive directly, she'd be told we're all the manager. She will then promptly go somewhere else where she can ask for the manager

Twatter will be around soon enough. I like 3speak's login and then connect hive account method, and might have to borrow that feture.

as far as games. Myself and others are bringing play by post games to Hive.
I just got the dice bots working today.
They allow for quite a few comments and interaction between Hive users. We have formed friendships over them the last 2 years on Steem.
see this post

https://peakd.com/battle/@simplegame/hivequest-play-by-post-rpg-sign-up

An all-in-one mobile application.
I’m talking video uploads, messaging, wallet, communities etc. I want it all in one place. Dapplr or PeakD’s mobile apps currently in development may satisfy to a certain degree. However I want 3Speak uploads within the app, haven’t seen that mentioned yet.

Sounds...complicated...like, facebook?

Maybe something like tiktok for short videos.

Like Facebook with their long list of features.
Obviously not like Facebook in every way.
A go to app that is a standout #1 choice just makes sense to me.

it's coming soon. look for dapplr

I’ve been following them closely, just waiting for my chance to test the app out.

I believe @dapplr will have that option but I'm not sure.

It looks great so far. I wonder if there will be a video length limit. Also I’m not sure when it will be available to start using, but I’m excited for it.

They say they will release it sometimes mid June, if everything will be in place, and I guess, but don't know for sure, that it will have some video length limit to make it operable and fast. I have many fails with DTube and if it will work like it did, then I won't use it for videos.

SMTs

the ability for Esteem app users to join Communities.....it doesn't exist.

A decentralized digital asset store where people can buy and sell stuff.

openbazaar.org

decentralised peer to peer marketplace.

Or reddit.com/r/redditbay

Or discord groups

Neither Reddit or discord is decentralised obviously.

Don't think there's much point in building out that on hive. Just go to those places and accept or pay in hive or hbd if you want. Post here or wherever else to promote your sale or whatever

The point would be expanding the use case of Hive. It's a currency. You can't see the point of creating a place for spending it?

My point is if you use the currency on a place that exists already you are using the currency in the real world.

Like if it can be integrated with things that already exist then you have a good head start.

But yeah it would be good to have a hive version of open bazaar.

The more users we get the more likely we are to have a vibrant exchange like that

Thank you for sharing, openbazaar looks interesting, I need to look into it :)

Crypto for kratom, right here rhizOHM.co

I'll accept HIVE too sent directly to my wallet!

And I pay 30% commissions for life!*

Thanks

🕉️☀️♥️🙏

Rewarding well to the content consumers in short form engagements like comments. There are curation teams, but they pretty much curate either exemplary posters or those who are already established. So new users are not getting much interest, unless they are pretty good.

True that. Established ones get a lot of autovotes. Who cares to read what they write?

Upvoting comments need to be encouraged. However there is a rewarding curve that diminishes the power of author to reward good comments.

Recently my observation is that even there are less upvotes in GEMS community. I am not tracking who upvotes what or how, but for last few days, I feel like, new content is not getting the reward they used to sometimes back.

In my personal opinion, if someone does write some decent posts ( could be anything but original), then the chain should reward him, till he achieves at least 500 hive . That way , they get inspired and get habituated. And by that time they would also have improved. Same authors getting more than 50$ votes does not add new users - again its all my personal opinion.

I'm aligned with your personal opinion in this matter. If you look at the list of top 10 people who have been rewarded the most, almost all of them are continuously making over $25 per post. Some are writing 4 such articles each and every day. To be honest, very few read those posts that read $25! The worst is, they get high rewards for the same posts on steemit as well!

Have you heard of upvote services running behind the scenes? They say, you delegate to me, I will upvote your posts. These are no less than bidbots.

And no one realizes that including communities and we are saying hive will cherish !!

You're right. I believe also that auto votes that are long established for old users take away the chances for many new users. Probably some would put more on their auto votes but you can't do that with too many so you stick with your old ones.

I reckon that we should encourage the curating comments more, but again that will be limited to certain users if you write a comment to their post you might get an upvote.

Buyers. lol

  • Long-form quality content.

Lots of trash here. Short content. Or content that is rewritten. Nothing original. Funny. Or though-provoking like Medium yet.

Who reads anymore long form content?...🤔
I believe that there is room for. everyone and I would even encourage people to do tweet types of posts but not abuse with that. I also believe that stressing on Hive to remain only a blogging dedicated platform will limit its potential.

Who reads anymore long form content?..

I used to think too. Having blogged for 8+ years, I have kind of changed my thinking. In fact, a lot has changed.

Medias are going with long-form content (so they can offer detailed reports and people are happy to pay for such content). Google, for example, also loves in-depth content and ranks them higher on Google News.

Plus, there were tonnes of studies on why long-form beats short content.

Take this pic as an example:

The "head" is where the meat - traffic is. The head is thick and long. It is our long-form content. As you go from head to tail, you start to lose traffic and turn into another mediocre content players.

I don't know if you know Stratechery. He writes long-form content and alone makes over $2 million through $5 subscription. People love reading content that has some depth, insights, and lasts forever.

Even on Medium, you find examples of long-form content making $10k and upwards while short content earns a couple of hundreds dollar at best.

This, I believe, is because anyone can write - and that leads to an increase in mediocre content.

As i said earlier, If I could learn something new from the long form content, I would have spent hours before realising it. I read a lot of interesting stuffs from Quora, everyday.

But sometimes I feel that some people here write 2000 word post just for the sake of making it lengthy. At the end you will realize that all you read so far was a garbage.

One problem with the Hive is increasing automation. Big stake holders have written codes to choose contents. These bots consider 500 words + content as quality ones and automatically push them up.

As far as SEO is concerned, as you mentioned, having over 1500 words is perfect. But not everyone is made for it.

However, when it comes to a social media concept such as Hive, it can have any form of content. People may want to share a story from their lives. Maybe a photo and a short story behind it.

Again quality is subjective. One can attain influence even with a short content if he/she is really bringing in quality.

True. Great points about the Hive issues as well. I don't write long-form all the time because the results are not close to the effort yet.

I don't usually read lengthy contents unless I learn something new from them . Honestly, I have no time. A lot of so called lengthy contents, to me, appear repetitive and boring.

I prefer short and engaging contents over lengthy 'hard to read' ones. Quality is subjective so 'short' doesn't mean 'trash'. But I agree there is a lot of trash out there.

No time

That is the trick. I have answered above explaining why long-form stands out. Anyone reading it gets sucked into it and walks away with something interesting.

I would say the opposite actually . The world runs on short content now attention spans are getting less and less. I know I zone out with longer content pretty easily. People have it in there mind here that more is better but I dont always think so!

A good mobile app(IOS and android), messaging app, an engagement dedicated trending page, more whales to curate manually and not rely solely on auto votes this way boosting engagement, some sort of staking option for long term hodlers with nice returns for hodling for minimum a year or so and not be able to vote for anything, marketing and advertising other than posh, a different view on what quality could be for a post taking away that old long is good pattern, private wallets so the minnows won't ass lick whales that much anymore and treat everyone equally, top notch design for hive.blog because many new ones land here first probably. I will probably come bac later with another comment because I don't lack ideas, just funds...

Sports

Congratulations @xxxxxxxxxx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.
You received more than 2750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Imagine a dart game where Justin Sun's face was the bullseye. Add betting to it and the potential to receive rewards and it could be a good time. Flappy bird replacement but with ned's grandma. There is so much potential!

Nothing much, hive is a step up to steem but it still needs a proper structure to how the DAO/DHF can works perfectly without abuse

Chocolate? Also a way to cross-post from other social media!

Popular YouTube channels posting here.

great question..According to me the main thing that HIVE is missing is the attention that it really deserves.. The potential its got is still unknown to the masses. Cheers and have a good day ahead. Take Care.

Front-ends that are more SEO-friendly, an Amazon-like digital marketplace, an affiliate program that sells stuff in fiat but pays affiliates in Hive, front-ends that do not show post earnings...

Still in searching mode ....however on the lighter note missing the famous "reward pool rape" saga😉

Right now, i think it's the good smartphone app that is needed the most.

I think having an easier way to drop comments and sign up (e.g. through google/facebook login) will be great for adoption. Basically to lower the learning curve for people to get started with their first post.

I also think there should be a on-chain way for users to categorize their content into the various types (e.g. long Medium-like posts, short Twitter-like posts, image based Instagram-like posts, sharing of external articles, video-based content and etc). If we have such on-chain data, it will be easier for interfaces or dApps, to be built around those content types. Of course, this heavily relies on users categorizing their content correctly. But it may evolves into the specific interfaces categorizing the content by default. For example, if you post through Peakd.com, your content is by default a long blog post. This will aid in content discovery and dApp building in my opinion.

A real RPG Game inside this so called "superior technology".

users plain and simple. loads of users

Games non-based on boring cards and a gallows for those who abuse the platform.

patience :) there is alot coming soon and we just have to wait as hive improves. I think this will lead to more active users which is of course the life blood for hive

maybe anonymous posting/comment function without creating another anonymous account.

More rewards. Engagement doesn’t really matter for most. You can get that on other platforms.

A steady influx of new users, we have almost everything else. I’m doing my best to onboard, starting Facebook groups about unrelated topics with the hopes of onboarding new users once they are active

And using language learning apps to recruit exchange buddies

Definitely needs more users but, some will probably leave once they see pretty much the same people hitting the trending page and getting fat payouts mostly thanks to auto votes. Most of them deserve nice payouts because they add value and put passion in their blogs but, to have more and more users, if that's what whales want, then they should adjust the amounts of VP they cast and focus some to new users. No one will stay here with less or no rewards when knowing the potential.

Hi there....

I went through this post with hopes of seeing someone mention De-Fi as in ability to obtain loans and payback with interest but I found non. This is a large community that can benefit from that and in turn benefit the blockchain and the value of the token.

I don't know how complicated the mathematics will be but as long as people can pay back their loans with interest, the interest captured can be burned, or used for other valuable dev of the blockchain.

I will love to have your opinion as to why this shouldn't be done or further discussed.

Screenshot_20200429-081644.png

Here are other posts on the chain highlighting this

https://hive.blog/hive-139531/@rok-sivante/hive-defi-how-to-strengthen-our-ecosystem-and-drive-up-price

https://peakd.com/hbd/@edicted/stabilizing-hbd

https://peakd.com/hivedev/@edicted/more-on-stabilizing-hbd-sbd

Cheers

A global takeover plan.

Here is a draft proposal I posted yesterday

It about creating a HIVE store for Hive merchandise (or the ability to easily buy HIVE merchandise using HIVE, $, £, etc)

hat.jpg

The money generated from merchandise sales would go to a fund specifically for buying up advertising structures (billboards etc) in major cities.

Most people don't use Twitter, and targeting other social media to onboard limits our scope greatly. We need to put ourselves out there in the real world. Especially now as a Great Depression approaches. People are going to lose jobs and be looking for other ways to make $ etc/or things to do to keep themselves busy and full of meaning.

We need to go global and target a broad scope of potential users. We need more users. We need more use cases for HIVE as a currency.
Having a billboard on the London Tube for example, would have major reach, and bring a wide range of new users.

An example; image stolen from here

CONNECT.jpg

more curation/curators, a little bit of comment curation and more contests and stuff in order to motivate everyone to write something.

the communities have helped a bit but we need some strong accounts or curation trails/teams in each one in order to motivate them by curating some content. What i am seeing is that people don't actually post about what they like but post in communities or use tags that have way more opportunities to get upvotes

Lightning fast content discovery.

A blockchain is very different from an SQL or a non-SQL database. There are no built-in indexes. Blocks in the chain contain headers, transactions, and a hash of the previous block and that's it. That's why pulling old posts from the chain is so slow. Blockchains are designed for distributed consensus but not data storages for rapid retrieval or updating. A second-layer solution that puts everything in the chain to centralized database, which stays in sync with the chain and that can, if necessary, be verified against what's on the chain could perhaps partly solve the content discovery problem.

People should also learn to use tags properly to categorize their content.

bees. a shit load of bees.

nectar!

Direct messages. If we want to compete with other social media it is a must.

More posts like this?

  1. New daps.
  2. Liquidity (it would be cool to buy food or clothing using HIVE \ HBD)
  3. Ads

Cranium.gif

Quality, legit nsfw content from crypto babes.

Ads that would bring a real value to the token. Basically hive is a platform without monetizaion.

Proper URLs for the Communities.

Cg

I think hive need to find a way to encourage readership. Tis like all that some guys look for is votes, votes and votes. If I read your post, my understanding will reflect on my comment. This is interaction which the entire hive community needs for upward growth. It is not enough to drop a post here and only come back to check how much votes you have.
WRONG.
Let responsible comments be encouraged.

a name for the users of hive

easy apps to use hive blockchain.

The sensible and 100% correct answer would be decent DApps to enable mobile use......the trite, in my dreams answer would be @surfermarly in a skin-tight wet suit all dripping wet...
Hmmmmmm
Now I need to decide which is the most important.....tough call......

There are 2 pages
Pages