Autumn Mountain Photography

in The Man Cave7 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some pictures from our recent trip to the mountains to check out some fall foliage colors!

IMG_0776.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Autumn Mountain Photography

Growing up, one of the things that I really didn't appreciate that much was how beautiful the area that I live in, actually is. Living on the Eastern Coast of the United States has so many perks, and some of the best of them being having beautiful scenery within a few hours driving distance!

We love to go visit the mountains that are a few hours away from where we live, for so many reasons. In October, those reasons are definitely the beautiful color of the whole landscape! We took a drive up there this past weekend and really had a good time seeing the beautiful vistas all around us.

At the bottom of the "notch" in the mountains, there are a couple of really nice lakes like this one. I didn't take any of these pictures, these were all snapped by my wife and I think she did a wonderful job! Not all of them were winners but she got several dozen awesome ones like this. I love the look of the lake peeking between the trees, most of them shedding their summer colors in favor of their nice autumnal yellows and oranges.

IMG_0798.JPG

Our favorite was definitely, and obviously, the beautiful mountain vistas that we got to see! There were so many sights to be hold. It was actually also very interesting because this is the first time in my life where we actually had traffic on this mountain road! Usually, unless there is an accident (there are quite a few deer and moose up here.. as you can imagine. People hit them fairly regularly!) there is never any traffic here. We were stopped completely in the line of cars but everyone was taking in the beautiful sights like this one! I love seeing the Appalachian mountains like this, they are a wonderful range and are indeed a bit weathered and aged but I think that gives them a lot of their character.

IMG_0774.JPG

One thing that struck me as incredibly strange and interesting is that nearly all of the trees in the notch here were yellow! I found that incredibly strange, thinking that we surely must have more varieties of the trees so that we get some reds and oranges in there but nope, all yellow lol. I was amazed by that! I don't know if my wife noticed it until I said it but it really stuck out to me.

The funny thing about it as well was that this was only in the notch that this occurred. Prior to the notch and after it, there were plenty of reds and oranges to be seen but inside it, it was all yellow lol. There are of course the evergreen trees all over the place that you can see which is certainly granted but as far as the seasonal trees, they were all yellow! I am going to look up which trees do that. I know the reds and oranges are often Maple trees which are my favorite but the yellow ones here, could be a lot of beech, birch and other styles.

IMG_0776.JPG

The wild thing that always amazes me and makes me enjoy it, is that when you are driving through the notch, the mountains are so tall on either side! You have to lean in and look upwards from the window to see the tops of it and I love that. If I could, I would live in the mountainous region here lol but my wife wouldn't care for that as much. Ah well, maybe someday!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Beautiful views… 😊
We haven’t seen much red along our trip so far either. Some locals were telling us that due to the wet summer the colours are subdued. More yellow than red. And also the colours are the worst since 50 years.
Still, it is stunning everywhere.
Have a great new week 👋🏻🍁🍂

Thanks you too! Hope you're enjoying it all! Are you in New York now or are you finished with your trip?

The wet summer has certainly had an effect but that's the interesting thing about it all, we don't know how these changes affect us until we experience them! The rivers and reservoirs are nice and full of water that's for sure haha

Thank you, we are.
We arrived yesterday in the Hudson valley. 😃 we are remote in a cabin on 18 acres of woodland.
Still all week left ☺️

Yes, exactly… everything is connected and affects it all.
Love the full rivers. The waterfalls are awesome 😎
Enjoy your Tuesday 👋🏻

Gorgeous autumn colors starting to display on the trees. Your scenic views with the mountains in the background are stunning! @cmplxty

!LADY
!PIZZA

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @cmplxty and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/9 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you! It's one of my favorite places to be for sure!

Wow nice views🎉

Thanks!

You're Welcome my friend🙋🙋🙋

Great views dude. Fall 🍁 is my most favorite time of the year. Doesn't seem to last long though. Chili and beer bread season 👍

Thanks dude yeah it's good and bad that it's short! Does make for a great food season, I think I'm gonna get some ground beef to make a nice chili this week! I haven't had a chili in a really long time sadly lol

Love the color! I always love it when the leaves turned its color to autumn colors. Are there any hiking trails around Appalachian?

Oh there are thooooooousands of hiking trails in these mountains haha. Official ones as well as random ones people decide to cut into the side! It's a beautiful place for sure! I've only hiked an incredibly tiny amount of them so far but always enjoy it!

Some people are living in a very beautiful place but they fail to appreciate the place maybe because they are used to that environment and all but it does not work that way
I'm glad you now appreciate the environment and this place looks very good

Yeah for sure! I am really glad to talk to people from all around the world to appreciate where I am so much more!

I'm curious to know how the plants/trees there ended up being all yellow. If they weren't selected and planted, that means the naturally coincidence that made it so, is a beautiful one🤗

Yeah it's odd! It’s likely got a lot to do with fires and animals in the area like squirrels taking the seeds of the trees and hiding them in the ground which makes them grow. The area doesn’t allow logging so it’s likely a pretty unique coincidence!

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ninahaskin(1/5) tipped @cmplxty

All these natural beauty places looks so beautiful and amazing.