One Mans Mac Journey

in The Man Cave10 months ago

Well Hivers it's been a while since I last posted anything but here goes. It looks like my Apple Mac journey is finally complete, but it's been a long road. Like most people, apart from the real nurds, it start back in the 90 with my first iPhone, and I still have it.

IMG_2460.jpeg

It's a 3 I think I still like the size but probably not the best for my eyes these days. I'm now on a iPhone 12 the joys built in obsolescence and marketing.

IMG_0060.jpeg

Then an iPad arrived which was great for traveling but the old IOS was a pain, that was given way when I got my first iPad Air that my Dad now has as I'm on the iPad Pro and Magic Keyboard that is an amazing bit of kit.

IMG_2461.jpeg

My first real Mac was a Mac Air notebook I got for traveling and editing photos back in 2012. it's still here I the cave but WIFI no longer work so it's permanently wired to the internet. It's staying because it's the only bit of tech that will down load logs from my Dive Computer and run my dive log program so still needed it.

IMG_2448.jpeg

Back in the Philippines I did plan to get a Mac mini But they were far too expensive there, so I ended with an Intel NUC instead little did I realise this would be my last Windows Computer.

IMG_2453.jpeg

So it finally happened and I picked up a 512gig M2 Mac mini in KL Last month. I'm impressed much faster than anything else I've used and handy size too.

IMG_2454.jpeg

It is now paired up with a docking station and 1TB drive for extra storage. A bit of 3D printing came in handy to link the two together and stop things sliding around.

IMG_2459.jpeg

To help strip the old data from my aged and incredibly slow Windows Tower system before it finally goes to the tip I picked up an SATA drive reader. I'm not sure how long it will stay as the drives are really slow compared to modern SSD storage.

IMG_2452.jpeg

So Hivers what is the next plan. Maybe monitor upgrade at some stage as I think I will be using the Mac mini a lot more now.