Adventures in Recycling

in The Man Cave10 months ago (edited)

Today was a different day, which perhaps is just how I like it.

IMG_20230626_081320.jpg

I started by bringing down from the farm two pieces of construction bamboo - guadua angustifolia - for some friends at the place where I park the Nissan. They needed it urgently to fix up one of the roofs where some cars are parked, and I was happy to help.

Then I went down to the warehouse and loaded up some aluminium, and started heading down to Padilla.

IMG_20230626_121600.jpg

I like driving, and I seem to do it in a more relaxed fashion than other Colombians, who always seem to be in such an immense hurry to get anywhere.

Finally I made it to the aluminum foundry.

IMG_20230626_130043.jpg

They have been in business 3 years here, a regional center for transforming scrap into almost pristine aluminium ingots. They shared with me this picture of their last founding.

IMG-20230626-WA0070.jpg

It was very interesting to talk to them and they even offered me a job helping to find clients for their final product in the United States or elsewhere. Anyone have any tips for me? We can split the commission.

IMG_20230626_142855.jpg

So we weighed all my aluminium by type and then they started pulling out their garbage, part of the deal that goes both ways.

IMG_20230626_144156.jpg

In the end it took 8 of us to get this 230kg sack of not-aluminum metal into the car. I thought that was it but it wasn't, we did get it all in in the end though.

IMG_20230626_162746.jpg

As I drove back slowly and carefully, and thought back over the day, it was something special, a bit out of the ordinary, many people looked at me funny - look at that, a gringo trash man.

IMG_20230626_155242.jpg

My wife warned me not to damage the faux-leather seats, and I didn't, so I guess it was a good day in more ways than one. I'm living the American Dream, down here in Colombia, South America.

Freedom and Friendship

Sort:  

That sounds like an amazing day! I'm glad you were able to help your friends with the bamboo, and that you found a new business opportunity.

I'm not sure if I have any tips for finding clients for the aluminum foundry, but I'm sure you'll be able to figure it out. You seem like a resourceful person, and you're already off to a good start by reaching out to people on social media.

I'm also impressed that you were able to get such a large sack of metal into your car. That must have been quite a feat!

It sounds like you had a lot of fun on your day out, and that you're really enjoying your life in Colombia.

Looks like a great day. Don't ruin the seats 😆🤣
Don't let that coffee slosh out of your dCity mug!!!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @ecoinstant.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Shame we can't live this type of American dream in the US. Keep on keeping on, man.

!ALIVE

@ecoinstant! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mirroredspork. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Indeed, but the dream lives on! I wouldn't be surprised if people want to start visiting me, ECOBANK has a visa program :)

transforming scrap into almost pristine aluminium ingots

I love seeing junk turn into useful resources. Scrap yards are so impressive to me.

!ALIVE
!WINE

@ecoinstant! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ironshield. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Me too, can't wait until we can get a few more machines working, junk has so much potential!!

Wow! You have a good heart of helping other people. Keep it up and enjoy what you are doing.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Tu publicacion ha sido votada por el Trail de CAPYBARAEXCHANGE por contenido excepcional y formar parte de nuestra comunidad de usuarios activos.

Unete a nuestro canal de discord en dónde podrás conocer mas acerca de nuestras operaciones y servicios. registrate ingresando en capybaraexchange para disfrutar del servicio

Si quieres formar parte de nuestro trail de curación, ingresa a HIVEVOTE, haciendo clic en la imagen del capybara aristocratico. Capybaraexchange tu casa de cambio, rapida, confiable y segura



South America is America, although not unitedstatesian.