I Painted Myself From The Beaches Of Thailand! πŸ– 🍸🧑 (Gouache Painting)

in Sketchbook β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

If you are an artist, I think you can relate to sudden artistic cravings in the middle of the night where you feel this sudden burst of energy with the thought of painting the whole damn world :D If you can relate, congratulations you are on the crazy side too. But hey, that makes two of us now ;)

It happened last night, and even though I didn’t have a proper surface for gouache, I just had to paint! I knew I had just the perfect picture to satisfy this craving! Since there is pretty much no travel going on it feels good to revisit some great vacations, and reminisce those good times.

I love the pictures from the beach and @varunpinto really did a great job in helping us get some shots :D


Let's connect on Instagram!

1.jpg

6.JPG

7.png

8.png

The picture had excellent light values and seemed a perfect fit for some gouache practice. I really need to up my gouache game to be able to do more complex work. Because the sunlight was hitting me and the water clearly, it produced some excellent highlights and shadows. And the water was very very clear which meant and interesting challenge to paint!

Now, I didn’t have a proper surface for gouache but luckily I found something that was usable. The most funny part was an orange background lol. I would never have chosen one under normal circumstances. It could have gone horribly wrong, in fact midway I did feel a couple of times like I was gonna throw it away pretty soon but once I put some proper values, it felt doable.

9.png

10.png

11.png

12.png

Infact I really like the little orange streaks in the sky and water! The beachwear was so much fun to work on and kinda funny because I was essentially painting my own clothes πŸ˜‚ Painting water with such luminescence was tricky in the beginning but just like any other study, patience is always the key. It slowly makes sense and sometimes you can even rectify mistakes on the surface as you go along. Best way is to not judge early even if it’s not going as planned.

I remember the moment in this picture very clearly and I think it was right after a jet ski ride. So all of us were thrilled anyway :D Here are some of the process shots which are a little darker than usual, thanks to lack of natural light! πŸ˜‚

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.JPG

5.JPG

Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧑


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort: Β 

Really a beautiful painting.

Thank you so much!

This is one of your best works really.
Love the details :)

Aww dude, this made my day :) Really means a lot ☺️
Thank you ❀️❀️

well done!

Thank you very much ☺️

beautiful colours

beautiful colours

Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

That's why I got confused whether you are from India or Thailand.
Beautiful picture

Hahah it’s just a picture used-for-painting from a trip that’s all. Thank you!

Haha. Painting is good.

Very good painting, I like this technique. This looks like a really cool photography filter.

Hehe thank you very much! 😊

Beautiful! At first look I thought it was done in oil pastel (even though there's gouache in the title haha). I love it! You practiced your tonal values well. My favorite part is the little waves in the water :D

Hehe thank you very much! I loved doing the water part too even though I was shit scared that I was gonna ruin it πŸ˜‚

You are awesome! Nice!

Oh hahah, thank you!

I can't do what you did! I am rusted and busted! LOL

Hahaha. I am sure you can too!

This is a beautiful work. It’s nice when an artist makes something being really inspired. I love the red zones around her face and neck, the effect of light is beautiful.

Indeed! That is one of the core things about traveling for me. Really inspires the artistic side :)
Thank you very much for the feedback 😊

Wow, exelente tu trabajp, muy bueno, el contraste es expectacular, gracias por compartir.

I am glad you liked it, thank you! :)

wow, beautiful art work.

Thank you very much :)

really nice!

Thank you!

Quite beautiful and impressive. It seems that your night-time "inspiration" led to some fine painting.

Thank you very much! It did satisfy my hunger to paint haha πŸ˜†