30 Days to Loosen Up My Sketchbook. Day 1- A Hand - Drawing Process (Eng-Sp)

in Sketchbook9 months ago

A few months ago, I bought some sketchbooks with the intention of finally using them. For me, sketchbooks have always been a challenge. When I first started drawing, I would get frustrated by creating something that didn't meet my expectations. Then, when I started doing digital art, I put the sketchbooks aside.

Hace unos meses compré unos cuadernos de bocetos con ilusión de usarlos. Para mí, los cuadernos de bocetos siempre han sido un reto. Cuando empecé a dibujar me frustraba hacer algo que no cumplía mis expectativas. Luego, cuando empecé con el arte digital, los cuadernos de bocetos quedaron de lado.

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424803-y.jpg

I had envisioned creating beautiful sketchbooks like the ones I see on Pinterest - works of art worthy of being displayed. The book as an art object in itself.

Los tenía con la idea de hacer hermosos cuadernos de bocetos como los que veo en Pinterest; auténticas obras de arte dignas de ser exhibidas. El libro como objeto artístico.

Although I love digital art, sometimes it feels like work. I enjoy the feeling of sketching, drawing and painting simply for the joy of creation, without the need to offer or sell them. I like the playful experience of creating. Of course I want to make a living through my art, but I also believe in creating just for enjoyment, without the perfection expectations that accompany a work meant to be part of a collection.

Aunque amo el arte digital, a veces se siente como trabajo. Me gusta la sensación de hacer bocetos, dibujos y pinturas simplemente por el placer de crear, sin la necesidad de ofertarlos o venderlos. Me gusta la experiencia lúdica de crear. Por supuesto que quiero vivir del arte, pero también creo que crear solo para disfrutar, sin las expectativas de perfección que acompañan a una obra destinada a ser parte de una colección.

So I decided to do a 30-day challenge of drawing with traditional techniques in my sketchbook. Devoting no more than half an hour and using a list of things I might not normally draw. Stepping out of my comfort zone and regaining practice with traditional materials, while continuing to learn.

Decidí hacer un reto de 30 días dibujando con técnicas tradicionales en mi cuaderno de bocetos. Destinando no más de 30 minutos y utilizando una lista de cosas que quizás yo no dibujaría. Saliendo de mi zona de confort y recuperando la práctica con materiales tradicionales, además de seguir aprendiendo.

image.png

Yes, I did it in Spanish using AI and then I asked it to translated to English so I could share both screenshots, lol. Here, the Spanish version:

Si, la hice en español usando IA y luego le pedí que la tradujera al inglés para compartir ambas capturas de pantalla. Aquí la versión en español:

image.png

The first item on my list were two had. At first I wasted 5 minutes looking for hand references, so I decided to just draw my own hand holding a decorative doll I have on my desk. I didn't draw two hands, it's true, I only drew one. But I decided so because at the time it seemed more practical to use my hand, a real reference and not a photograph, and that's why I wanted to compensate by adding the small doll.

El primer artículo de mi lista era una mano. Al principio perdí 5 minutos buscando referencias de manos, así que decidí dibujar mi propia mano sosteniendo una muñeca decorativa que tengo en mi escritorio.. No dibujé dos manos, es cierto, solo dibujé una. Pero así lo decidí porque en el momento me pareció más práctico usar mi mano, una referencia real y no fotografía, y por eso quise compensarlo agregando la pequeña muñeca.

Here is my drawing of the hand and its process:

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424793-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424794-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424795-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424796-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424798-y.jpg



telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424806-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424805-y.jpg

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5066826503559424801-y.jpg

I intend to continue the challenge, focusing on the joy of creating and experimenting rather than perfection. Wish me luck🤞🏾


Photos and text by Alejandra Her