My first oil painting practice | Mi primera práctica con óleos

in Sketchbook4 years ago

image.png

We learn by imitation. There is no doubt about it. From children, from a very young age, we are copying everything we see and repeating it, to the point of perfecting it.

Aprendemos por imitación. De eso no cabe duda. Desde niños, desde muy pequeños, vamos copiando todo lo que vemos y repitiendolo, hasta el punto de perfeccionarlo.

With the human figure, for example, special practice is required. We will never be able to do anything of our imagination if we do not practice infinitely of references, photographic or live, anatomical, etc.

Con la figura humana, por ejemplo, se requiere especial práctica. Jamás podremos hacer algo de nuestra imaginación si no practicamos infinitamente de referencias, fotográficas o en vivo, anatómicas, etc.

Today I have decided to use oils for the first time. I have never seen, touched or smelled an oil tube or turpentine in my life, so I enjoyed this new experience as you cannot imagine. My first practice, I have decided to do something very simple, copying. Yes, to copy. I will have the chance to paint something of my own. Here is the reference of what I copied. Click here

Hoy he decidido usar por primera vez óleos. Jamás en mi vida había visto, tocado u olido un tubo de óleo o trementina, así que disfruté esta nueva experiencia como no lo imaginan. Mi primera práctica, por ser la primera, he decidido hacer algo muy simple, copiar algo muy simple. Si, copiar. Ya me tocará hacer algo propio. Aquí la referencia de lo que copié. Click aquí

image.png

A couple of days ago I tried acrylics and the result was a disaster, drying so fast, it didn't leave me time to manipulate the color as I like. Then I found out that there are retardants for this.

Hace un par de días que probé con acrílicos y el resultado fue un desastre, al secarse tan rápido, no me dejaba tiempo para manipular el color como me gusta. Luego me enteré que se pueden usar retardantes.

But I really loved oil paintings, I found it much easier to use and more adaptable to the way I work.

Pero el óleo de verdad me encantó, me pareció mucho más sencillo de utilizar y más adaptable a mi forma de trabajar.

Today I learned three important lessons:

Hoy aprendí tres lecciones importantes:

image.png

First, do not sketch in pencil or charcoal because when painting it will stain the paint. Instead do it with the same oil painting.

Primero, no rayar en lápiz o carbón porque al pintar manchará la pintura. En cambio hacerlo con el mismo óleo.

Second, I must maintain a certain order with my color palette. Doing the entire palette at the beginning and then adjusting as I go is going to make it easier for me to keep the tone in my painting, and not have these areas too dark or light that I can't control with a more arbitrary palette.

Segundo, mantener cierto orden con mi paleta de colores. Hacer toda la paleta al principio y luego ajustar a medida que vaya avanzando me va a facilitar mantener el tono en mi pintura, y no tener estas áreas muy oscuras o claras que quizás no puedo controlar con una paleta más arbitraria.

And finally I learned that I must keep my canvas clean. Serious mistake I made.

Y por ultimo aprendí que debo mantener mi lienzo limpio. Error grave que cometí.

Thanks to the oil paintings and its slow drying time I can diffuse easily, and the texture is delicious.

Gracias al óleo y su lento tiempo de secado puedo difuminar tranquilamente, y la textura es deliciosa.

image.png

Hope you like. If you have recommendations and tips, I will gladly accept them.

Espero que les guste. Si tienen recomendaciones, las aceptaré con mucho gusto.

Sort:  

Brutalisimoo

Beautiful artwork and amazing tips! You managed to work with oils just fine, can't wait to see an original artwork of yours with this technique. Thanks for sharing! 💜

Thanks for your comment! I've received a lot of good feedback about this and I'm really excited. I'd like to spend all day painting!

Wow! If you are just doing this for the the first time, it is really cool. I would have to paint up to 3 times before I come to this rate 😆. Nice one🥂

realmente no parece la primera vez, quedó increíble, que bueno es que pueda experimentar en otros medios algún día espero tener esa oportunidad

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

genial, siempre hay una primera vez para todo, se ve muy bien 👍

Awesome painting. Despite this is your first time of using oil paint, it looks very realistic. I think it is as a result of experiences you've accumulated working with other mediums.

Art-is-life