A doodled Dahlia

I finally did it!
I finally remembered to take progressive shots of my drawings!

Again, I tend to sketch at night when the light is not great (probably why my vision is getting less than optimal) so forgive the lighting editing job I did on my phone.

It's a dahlia, in case that's not obvious.
IMG_9559.jpg

I always need to work from a photo, as I am very new to this idea that I can actually improve my drawing skills! ;)
At first I was trying to make it look very much like the photo but then thought it better to stick to what I know. And so even though as I was drawing the first few layers it looked weird and like I was already making it too round, I kept going.
IMG_9560.jpg
I added some darker edges to the petals to try to get some depth and to differential the center a bit. It started to disappear into a blob.

This morning I decided to add some color to it. This part always makes me anxious as I have that fear of ruining the whole thing. I tend to just go back and outline my sketches and add some shading in an attempt to add depth and life.
IMG_9561.jpg
I wasn't upset at my first layers of purples.

But I sort of wanted more. So I grabbed a white marker and started to edge the petals a little.
IMG_9563.jpg

I'm not really sure which version I like better, but I was at least clever enough to erase that other awful sketch I had going in the corner of my book! ;)

All in all I'm pretty happy with my little colored doodle.
I hope you enjoy the simplicity of it as well.
Thanks for taking the time to take a peek!

Materials used: plain paper, pencil and a couple cheap markers ;)

Sort:  

Well done @barracudadiaries and one of my FAVOURITE flowers! Smart to get the sketch propress shots and if you remember to take them from above and keep them as high res you can use them in krita and make all sorts of fun digital drawings. Well done!

yes...photographing stuff at 6pm to the glow of the tv or at 5 am with just my twinkle lights is not ideal! haha