Bulldog burnings - Pyrography portraits

in Sketchbook8 months ago (edited)

Hey peeps!

Another ‘where has the time gone’ post haha 😂

Seriously though, where does it go?!

Anywho… I found my passion again for art as I shared previously in a couple of posts, and since then I have been working on combining my love for woodwork with my artwork, and of course, with Bulldogs!

About 2 months ago, I decided to try my hand at Pyrography, burning images on to wood. I found that I really enjoyed the process and started to share my work with fellow bulldog fans. People began to contact me and asked me if I would do images of their bulldogs too, and before I knew it I was booked up for a couple of months!

So here is how the process went…

My first attempt was pretty basic…

C4894413-FF3C-4FF3-ACC3-4FF5BDEA9486.jpeg

This gave me a feel for the process and started my interest in Pyrography. My second attempt for a friend was slightly more detailed…

8D5F9E03-522B-4FED-A71D-A6384D4FC437.jpeg

My third attempt was for a different friend and at this point I had been watching quite a few tutorials on YouTube so had some ideas on how to achieve a more realistic look…

2FDB2B02-B778-4174-AB79-3CA2AD477CBC.jpeg

I was super pleased with this one, although my lettering could be better. But the actual bulldog face was just what I was trying to achieve and my friend was over the moon with it!

Then came a bigger challenge, I was asked if I could do a larger piece with 5 bulldogs on the same piece! I’m not one to back down from a challenge, so of course I said yes! Here it is…

8C00D9FE-9528-48E7-A411-6780D0FE7D69.jpeg

These are the reference images…

4E8E18FA-16E5-4146-8D2D-E8116C90A4A0.jpeg

05B3B1B9-AC60-42A8-914F-52BB338FEF84.jpeg

0DA50A10-B8AC-40D0-A9A0-D65A46839BE9.jpeg

48205185-BDFA-4445-9376-A8FB64FC5447.jpeg

CE4A6C14-E05D-436F-A9EE-6269C1138BF5.jpeg

Which leads me to my current piece which I am so proud of! My techniques are definitely improving with each picture I burn.

501E9761-D5DE-48EB-A6F4-9656F0A49688.jpeg

I can’t tell you how much this has reignited my love for art. Of course I am still developing my woodturning skills too, but this has been an amazing new outlet for my creativity and the fact that other people are enjoying my work too makes it even more special!

I hope you have enjoyed following my progress so far and I will try and post my projects more regularly 🥰

Much love, Cheryl and the bullies xx

Sort:  

The way you progressed is unbelievable. You have videos of how you create these? Would love to binge watch on your art process. I’m sure many more clients would come your way after seeing your work.

Thank you! I’ve done a couple of short clips that show the process, but nothing from start to finish. That would be a loooong video haha 😂

Hello there bulldog lady!!! Where have you been all this time? I haven't even noticed you've back! @coolmidwestguy told me today.

Nice to see you again and you still owe me a detailed Easter lunch post 😆

I'm amazed how beautiful this pyrography art is. It's not new to me as I've seen it before but yours is different, it's more sophisticated. I love it.

I hope to see you around.

Ah I know, time just gets away from me haha 😂
Great to see you again! I love the craft fayre that you posted about, some beautiful work there.
Thank you for your lovely comments 💜

Wow! If you can pull that third attempt off in only three goes, you must be able to draw really well!

Incredible work. Especially the detailed ones.

I've never seen this technique.

Marvelous 💥

Thank you so much! 🥰 I can draw in pencil but I’m Not that great with colours, so woodburning is a good fit for me 😁

Oh I hear you :)

My one art lecturer told me to stuck to black and white 😂

I did imagine with pencil. You can tell you know your stuff.

Lovely work. Enjoy the process ❤️

That's one way to fall in love with art, include some bulldogs 😁 I love the wood burned art. I wonder what thier bullies do when they see their reflections in wood. Nice to see you again it's been awhile unless I've missed a few.

Defo the best combination, bulldogs and art! 😁 I have been MIA, time seems to get away from me and before I know it months have passed since I last posted! Great to see you here!

Aaaaahhhhh look at their squishy faces XD

The wood burnings are amazing too :) Accidentally found yourself yet another side hustle? :D

Haha exactly right! 😂 who knew it would be so popular! I have a feeling leading up to Christmas that I may get a few more requests! I need to learn to say no too though 😂

Learning to say no is an important skill XD

Your work is impressive, works of art with pyrography and the images are beautiful. To get 5 dogs in the same picture, that was not easy but the result is amazing.

Thank you! Yes the 5 dogs on the same piece was a worry as every new one added more pressure not to go wrong haha

Hi @beautifulbullies,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am