My Easter egg art [PL/ENG]

in Sketchbook3 years ago
}

Hello Hive Community!

Easter is already past us, however I wanted to share with you something I've been doing annually for a few years now. When I was little my mom taught me how to make my own Easter eggs, called "pisanka" in Poland. There are many different methods to do them, but my mom's favourite technique (and mine as well) is dying eggs and then scratching the dye off with a knife.

Cześć Hive!
Wielkanoc już za nami, jednak chciałam podzielić się z Wami czymś, co robię co roku od wielu już lat. Kiedy byłam mała, mama nauczyła mnie jak robić własne pisanki. Jest na nie wiele sposobów, aczkolwiek ulubioną techniką mamy (i moją również) jest farbowanie pisanek i zdrapywanie wzorków nożykiem.

_IMG6663.jpg

At first my designs were very simple, they kinda resembled what you'd mostly see on the internet... maybe worse :D However, as I found my love for drawing years later, one Easter morning I decided to challenge myself and scratched a face on the egg. The result was... not really good, obviously, but it was just the beginning :)

Z początku moje wzorki były bardzo proste, mniej więcej takie jakie możecie zobaczyć w internecie... albo gorsze :D Jednak kiedy po latach narodziła się moja miłość do rysowania, jednego wielkanocnego poranka postanowiłam zadać sobie jakby wyzwanie i wydrapałam na jajku twarz. Rezultat był... no niezbyt udany, ale to był tylko początek :)

_IMG6645.jpg

Overall I find scratch art quite hard; I'm a digital/traditional artist and undo button and ereaser never leave my side. When doing these Easter eggs I always have to remind myself that once I make a mistake there is no going back. And to make this experience even harder, instead of using shadows to create an image, I have to focus on highlights instead. All of that on a round surface. Mind. Blown.

Ogólnie tego typu technika jest dla mnie dość trudna; przede wszystkim rysuję na komputerze lub tradycyjnie, więc Ctrl+Z i gumka są mi nieodłączne. Kiedy robię te pisanki zawsze muszę sobie przypominać, że w momencie kiedy zrobię błąd już nie będzie odwrotu. Dodatkowo, żeby było jeszcze trudniej, zamiast cieniować trzeba skupić się na rozświetleniach. A to wszystko na okrągłej powierzchni. Mózg na ścianie.

_IMG6636.jpg

I do realize my results aren't perfect. I'm an amateur artist, and every year I step out of my comfort zone to create these Easter eggs but I love doing it. It's both fun to do and relaxing and sometimes hilarious as well, especially in times when your own family can't recognize that what you just scratched on an egg is a lamb or a bunny :D

Zdaję sobie sprawę z tego, że te rysunki nie są idealne. Jestem amatorką w tej dziedzinie i każdego roku wykraczam poza moją strefę komfortu aby zrobić te pisanki, ale lubię to robić. Jest to zarazem dobra zabawa i relaks, a czasem nawet i trochę śmiechu, kiedy twoja własna rodzina nie potrafi rozpoznać, że to co jest na jajku to owieczka albo króliczek :D

Lastly, these are the tools I'm using - a boiled egg (obviously :) ) that you have to dye to a color of choice (my mom and I always use onion peels for that nice brown/burgundy color), the cheapest box cutter you can possibly find, and (optionally) a pencil (for additional shadows/details)

Słowem zakończenia, to są narzędzia, którymi się posługuję - ugotowane jajko na twardo (oczywistość :) ), które trzeba zafarbować na wybrany kolor (zarówno mama jak i ja farbujemy jajka obierkami z cebuli, daje taki ładny brązowo-bordowy kolor), najtańszy nożyk do tapet jaki można znaleźć oraz (opcjonalnie) ołówek (dla dodatkowych cieni/detali)

sdfghjk.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @beoru! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!