Work in Progress Wednesday... "And Now For Something Completely Different!"

in Sketchbook3 years ago

I spent most of this Wednesday afternoon beating my head against a wall as the saying goes. In my case that figurative wall came in the form of a drawing that just wasn't working.

This week I'm participating in an initiative of artists supporting fellow artists on @nftshowroom, organized by @nikkinicole. It's been a blast so far. @nikkinicole is providing some great feature write-ups on each of the artists involved as the week goes by. Check out her blog to follow along and see some great art! Saturday is my day to be featured... and seeing all the great stuff from the rest of the participants has me feeling the pressure for sure. I wanted to mint a new NFT for the occasion but wasn't entirely sure what to do.

I settled on revisiting a concept sketch I'd done some time ago, featuring an iteration of the dryad character Julie in my comic, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." For hours I worked on a new rendition in my traditional comic book style trying to create a more finished piece out of it.

Nothing was working. Composition, draftsmanship, anatomy... Perhaps the biggest drawback to working digitally is that I don't have a paper to crumple in frustration. Hitting the delete button just doesn't have the same psychological closure!

After a bit of rest I regrouped and decided to try something completely different. Thankfully I'm enthused by the initial result and think it's a pretty promising start!


Julie Concept 3-24-21.png


My regular style is for lack of a better word... pretty anal. I slave over every little detail, like nice clean ink lines, etc. This is a big departure for me as I just experiment with a bunch of new tools and brushes and start playing with texture and line.

The style that I'm somewhat mimicking here is artist Carne Griffiths. Carne paints with ink and tea! I saved a sample of Carne's work in my "inspiration" file after seeing it in a recent issue of ImagineFX magazine and rediscovered it as I tried to push through my art block today.

I can tell already that I'm also channeling a bit of my inner David Mack and I'll probably try reference his work as well as I continue to play with this piece.

I have a long way to go yet, but here's hoping it all comes together and will be my next NFT released this Saturday! Wish me luck!

Below is the initial sketchbook entry that's serving as the springboard for my little experiment here!


51F2159D-81A1-49CC-A387-AB38FA753505.jpeg


Should I be able to complete this to my satisfaction, I'll for sure be sharing the final version this weekend and you'll have an opportunity to purchase the NFT if you so desire!

As always, thanks for reading and if you have any questions or feedback hit me up in that comment section!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

Hi friend, i'm new to this site and i'm learning how it works, i've recently started to follow you, i think the artwork you do is great. today i posted a blog about my comics project in the creating comics section, i hope you can see it and know what you think.
https://ecency.com/hive-152031/@chapath/raxel-apocalyptic-comic-book-story

It looks lovely and I always satisfy my anal detailing by doing 'studies' of everypiece where I get to just play and be loose and free flowing I've lately had a number of people wish to purchase the 'study' more so now I offer both, and am happy that I listened to my dichotomy mind saying. 'do both' LOL.

I hope you are well, tyring to fit hive into my busy schedule I see you are busy on here as well :)

Thanks @donnadavisart! I'm actually cringing already looking at this now... but I'm very satisfied with how the finished piece turned out! I have a very hard time sketching and studying because I always feel the need to carry it into a fully realized piece.

I was happy to see you posting again and meant to circle back and leave a comment or two but I'm just now getting caught up! I do hope you make time to cross post to Hive. I'm still optimistic in the future of this community and technology!

Ooooh,I love this design. That second sketch is really cool, how you can see all four horns. 🤙

Very characteristic a face :)

!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program