Unlocking My Creativity #2: Toyota Supra MK4 (1994)

in Sketchbook4 months ago

Today, I'm drawing another iconic car from the Fast and Furious saga. If you've seen the early movies, I'm sure this car caught your attention. It was inevitable, with its flashy colors and the unforgettable race scene involving the Train.

Do you know which car I'm talking about? No? Don't worry, let's first remember the last article, "Unlocking My Creativity" (the first one), where I drew my version of the 1970 Dodge Charger, the beloved model by Toretto in the movies. Here's a glimpse of the final result. If you want to read the article, you can do it Here.

Dodge Charger R/T 1970

Now, let's move on to Brian O'Conner's first car when he joined Toretto's crew. We're talking about the Supra.

The Toyota Supra MK IV is an iconic sports car from the 90s. With its aerodynamic design and powerful 2JZ-GTE inline-six engine, the Supra MK IV stood out for its ability to achieve high levels of power and performance. With a factory power output of around 320 horsepower, the Supra MK IV could accelerate from 0 to 100 km/h in less than 5 seconds and reach top speeds of around 250 km/h. Thanks to its appearance in the "Fast and Furious" movie franchise, the Supra MK IV became an icon of car culture and street racing.

Source

For this one, I looked up some references of the model, from when it was auctioned, as well as original images of the Japanese version. Armed with all the information, it was time to start sketching.

Unlike the Charger, this one was a bit more challenging. The Toyota Supra, has more curves and aerodynamics. At the same time, the shape of the car is an advantage; I didn't have to achieve that American muscle car aesthetic.

I started with the lines: the car's height, the roof, the hood, and this time, the lower edge of the front windshield, to connect the hood with the roof.

I decided to proceed with the creation and try to draw the entire silhouette at once. Since the Supra is "rounder" than the Charger, it would have been difficult to piece it together like before. So, I did it all in one go. The first attempt didn't satisfy me, so I scrapped it, but not before tracing the tires, which turned out great that time (you'll see them below).

With the whole car drawn and quite satisfied with the result, it was time to add some darkness to this beauty.

In the movie, the car is a vibrant orange (some might say it's loud), so I tried to recreate it, or at least, that's what I aimed for. In black and white, it seemed too monotonous (though it suits the Charger well). This car absolutely needed color.

Now, here came another issue. I didn't have the materials for the idea I had in mind, but I did have some blunt-tipped colors (so I searched for a sharpener and improvised). I got to work.

Then I found a gel ink pen (maybe it has a specific name, if you know, leave it in the comments). This way, the car's figure stood out more, and I was quite happy with the result I achieved.

What could have been improved? The headlights. I wasn't entirely satisfied with how they turned out, but I realized my mistake too late, so they had to stay that way. Lesson learned.

The most challenging part of this car was recreating the radiator grille. In the movie, the car has a silver grille that covers almost the entire front grille. In my drawing, I pushed this grille further back and tried to recreate it closer to the radiator. I left the hood intact and didn't open the ventilation; I think trying to recreate it would have been a failure, so I kept it original.

I'm happy with how it turned out, and yes, there's still room for improvement. For my second drawing after years, I'm quite content.

Still, if you have any tips to help me improve or know of any tools that could enhance my skills, I would greatly appreciate it.

Oh, just like last time, when I finished, it felt a bit lonely, so I created a side view. In the back, I tried to add a Rap Road tire, but it didn't come out as I wanted. For now, it'll stay that way until I improve my skills or take a course on making wheels and tires.

I would love to hear your opinion on this model and the final result of the drawing. I'm considering adding backgrounds to the drawings, even if the car is in color. I'm thinking of creating a black and white background to make them less plain. What do you think of this idea? My plan is to create streets and environments from the countries where the cars originate.


In the next UMC, at the request of a great Cuhiver, I will be bringing one of the most popular models in Cuba from the 1950s, from one of the well-known American brands. Can you guess the year of the car I will be featuring? Yes, it's one of the most common "almendrones" in our country.

See you next Wednesday for another edition of "Unlocking My Creativity"

About the author...

I'm Daniel, a Cuban medical student and a car enthusiast. I love living each day to the fullest and sharing a bit about it on Hive. I enjoy sharing the history of the cars I come across, the curiosities of my country, my experiences, the sports I enjoy, and the movies I watch in my free time. If you're interested in any of these topics, I invite you to read my previous articles.


If you have enjoyed my content, I kindly ask you to consider voting for the witness of HiveCuba. They have been doing an incredible job educating and growing the community in our country. HiveCuba was recognized as the best community program in the recent HiveCreators, which is a great recognition for a year of intense work. Your support will mean a lot to us and will help several Cuban authors who are creating quality content on Hive.


Most of the images are owned by me, and for those that are not, the source has been given.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

Thank for the support team and thank Blessed-girl