Unlocking My Creativity #3: Ford Fairline (1955)

in Sketchbook4 months ago

I bring you one of the best-selling cars in Cuba before 1959. Besides the art, I'll tell you why I chose this car...

If you're new here, I must tell you that I live in Cuba. My country is filled with classic cars, mostly manufactured before 1959. You walk 10 meters, and you'll find one of these models—it's like an open-air museum.

The 1955 Ford Fairline, which I present to you today, is special because it's a car I can draw from memory. I've drawn it so many times that when I drew it again, it felt like I had never stopped.

Back in primary school, my seat was next to a window with a view of an avenue and buildings across. When I got bored, I'd draw the cars passing by.

This Ford always parked in the same spot, at the same time (later, I realized the owner worked just meters away from my school). The car was a marvel, always immaculate, well-maintained, as if it were heading to a car exhibition.

In short, I loved it.

During that time, I remember drawing it in every imaginable color. Today, I present the step-by-step of one of the cars I drew the most as a child.


I had fun redrawing it and recalling how my teacher scolded me for looking out the window instead of paying attention in class.

To her credit, I must say my notebooks, had more car drawings than copied class notes. The problem was me—I didn't like Spanish class.

Now, let's leave the story and get into the drawing process...


As always, the first step was to sketch the lines, but before that, I searched the internet to refresh my memory on the details and chose the car I would base the drawing on.

After sketching the lines for the car's height, roof, hood, and rear, I started drawing the car from back to front.

This time, I decided to reverse it because I intended to draw it on the largest scale possible, and this car has a front grille with many details. So, I took advantage to finish the rear part, which would take less time.

Later on, I decided to draw the front headlights to mark the division between the lower and upper halves.

From bottom to top, as always, this time with the roof from the inside and the outer windows, then I focused on the lower half.

I must say that the lower half took me almost 4 hours, only the grille. I chose to make each rectangle separately to achieve that effect (What do you think would have looked better? Maybe it wasn't the best decision—tell me in the comments what you would have done in my case).

This time, the tires came out right on the first try. I suppose by choosing this arrangement and having learned from previous attempts, the troublesome tire (front left) turned out better.

Here's the result...

I was planning to leave it in black and white, but I drew this for my girlfriend, and when she saw it, she asked me to add color. So, the magic happened, and I colored it just like I used to see it as a child.

I enjoyed the entire drawing process, but seeing it finished, I loved it. I think it's the first time in my life that I've created such a large and detailed drawing. Achieving this result holds great significance for me.

If it weren't for my girlfriend, I would have kept it.

Of course, there's always room for improvement, and with your help, I'll achieve it sooner. Do you have any tips, suggestions, or advice to enhance my drawings?

How do you feel when you see the final result of your artworks? If you're like me, who keeps drawings by hand, feel free to share some of your works. I'd be delighted to see them and get to know more artists in the community.

Remember, if there's any car model that catches your eye, leave a comment with the color, model, and manufacturing year, and maybe I can recreate it. It would be a pleasure for me.

This drawing has inspired me to draw other models that roam my country, so the vintage cars have arrived on the Hive.


If any comments come to mind, even if they're not about the drawing, it would be a pleasure to interact with you.

If you enjoyed my content, I invite you to check out the previous installments of Unlocking My Creativity (#1 and #2).

If you like them, consider leaving a comment and following me (I'll follow you back); that would be a great support.

About the author ....

I'm Daniel, a Cuban medical student and a car enthusiast. I love living my day to the fullest and sharing about it on Hive. Furthermore, I share about the history of the cars I come across, the curiosities of my country, my experiences, the sports I enjoy, and the movies and series I watch in my free time. If it aligns with your interests, or you want to be entertained, consider following me, voting for my content, and commenting to interact. I invite you to read my previous articles; surely something will catch your attention.

If you liked my content, I ask you to consider voting for the HiveCuba Witness, who has been doing incredible work to educate and grow the community in our country. HiveCuba's work was recognized in the last HiveCreators as the best community program, a significant acknowledgment for a year of intense work. Your support will mean a lot to us and will help several Cuban authors who are creating quality content on Hive.


The images used in this post are my property

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It is gorgeous! I love cars from the late 50s and early 60s. Thanks for sharing the steps, might attempt to draw one too 😀

In that time the cars had a different touch, most of them are beautiful.

Thank you for reading me and commenting. If you dare to draw one, I will be the first to read it.

😁Will definitely add it to my list of things to draw!

Those old Fords and Cadillacs were some of the most beautiful cars in existence, very well done!

Although Ford was not known for its designs, the Fairline model changed the game for the brand and Cadillac, what can I say about the automotive luxury, their cars from those years are incredible. Thank you for reading and commenting.

watching the steps was enjoying. Beside the ford being one of the best cards also here you did great job keep it up Doctor👍

Drawing this model and making the post was a very good experience, it is a pleasure to share it with the community. Thank you for reading and commenting.

Congratulations @dahpilot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024