Pasque-flower (watercolor art)

in Sketchbook2 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

This is another spring primrose - a flower with fluff on the leaves and the stem.

_.jpg

I decided that watercolor paints and ... ordinary table salt would be best for his drawing.
And I also need masking liquid and a synthetic brush

_.jpg

Reference

I apply masking liquid to the area where the flower will be depicted.
Then I mix the blue tones - ultramarine, cobalt and violet and paint the background.
At the bottom of the drawing, I paint some stripes with ocher mixed with cadmium red and yellow.
And I cover this lower area of picture with salt while the paper is still wet

_1.jpg

I mixing cadmium green yellow and some red to paint the stem of the flower and part of the leaves.
I also apply a new colorful layer to the top of the drawing to make the background more complex and colorful.
For this I needed the same ultramarine, cobalt and red ocher.
I also draw shadows from snowdrifts, where the flower grows.

_2.jpg

I remove the masking fluid from the leaf area and paint thin strokes with the same paint mix as for the stem.
I immediately sprinkle these wet touches with salt.

_3.jpg

When the paper dries, I remove the salt and use a darker green color to finish the shadows on the leaves.
And I also draw a shadow from a flower - a mix of ultramarine and green

_4.jpg

To paint the flower I use cadmium yellow, gold, cadmium orange and cadmium red.
Then, in the second layer, I add green and red ocher in the shade, and lemon cadmium on the most illuminated parts.
I also sprinkle it with salt.

_5.jpg

When the paper is completely dry, I remove the salt and add some shadows to the petals and some additional foliage in the background.

_6.jpg

The result is such a sunny portrait of a flower that has made its way out from under the snow!

_.jpg

I hope you enjoy these new watercolor techniques too.
Have a nice and creative spring day!

Regards

Sort:  

delicate sweet flower! Only I did not understand what role salt plays. why are you using it?

@tali72, thanks a lot!
Salt creates a texture that resembles frost on a window.
In this case, I needed the effect of loose snow, as well as the villi on the flower

Wow! very interesting! I did not know that 😀


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @daring-celt.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more