A new sketch and painting : Aloysius the Hedgehog in the Garden

hedgehog1Sketch1SMALL.jpg
Sketch of Aloysius Hedgehog by a garden urn

This little fellow is a companion piece to my Clement Hare illustration I shared previously. I love the look and idea of an illustrated children's book, tho I've not technically written said book. In my head the characters are appearing and I'm happy to set them to Life on the Page.

hedgehog1Sketch2SMALL.jpg

Aloysisus Hedgehog prefers to don his tartan flatcap when in the garden.

Watercolor washes on pencil and ink sketches are often a prelude to a more 'finished piece' for me, but I've been embracing them as finished. Years back I began to see that 'done' is a relative term for artists. And often followers of my work would request my studies on things, as they liked them at this stage.

So this year I'm embracing the pencil and watercolor sketch ON things and rather liking the results.

image.png

Aloysius looking dapper on a travel mug.

And pretty darn cute on a pillow, if I do say so myself.

image.png

I'm really enjoying creating characters in this story that's not really a story. But, one never knows, maybe a book could come about...if it does it'd probably be a resolution for 2024.

For now I'm happy making these illustrations and sharing them as stand alone pieces.

And again, seeing them in large scale like this always makes me smile.

image.png

I've imagined Aloysius, much like Clement Hare, to have a bit of a magical mystery about him. He, like Clement, is often seen in the garden by a flatcap or some garden tools, maybe a pair of wellies, and the local village population never see them and their human counterparts at the same time.

hedgehog1Sketch2THUMB.jpg

Are Clement and Aloysius the pets or are they the people? One wonders and anything is possible in the magic garden in their quaint little cottage in the village.

I hope you enjoyed today's work and sketch and that you find a moment in your day to indulge in your own passions. And as always, remember to stay creative!

Now, back to see what other chums might be in the garden with Aloysius and Clement.


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:

My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE

Sort:  

Such a cute character…
It fits nicely on diverse products as a print.
Have a wonderful Tuesday 👋🏻😊

You as well and hope you're having a good day.

Thanks a lot @donnadavisart 👋🏻😊 so far yes. Enjoy yours further!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @donnadavisart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow, amazing painting 😃
Keep up the good work, I look forward to seeing more of them 😍

Cool concept that 'presenting on things instead of liking' and they look really cool (with the pastel colors, it blends very)