Eyes on You - Eyes Sketch Practice

in Sketchbook β€’ 2 years ago

Hey Y'all! πŸ‘‹

Hello Sketchbook community, hello everyone! I hope your week is off to a promising start. Welcome back to emanate artworx. Today we're looking at something a little different from my normal faces, let's focus on the πŸ‘€ eyes this time.


45 minutes
Reference

Inspiration

After taking some time to do IRL things the last few days, it was definitely time to post anew. But the portrait I have in-the-works has really, really frustrated me at times.To stay sane I had to put it on the back burner for a minute. In turn, I felt motivated to make this post so I can continue to contribute and give you a look at what's in my digital sketchbook.

So I watched some videos ((links at the end)) about methods on rendering eyes and then had a go at it myself. I liked how clear and bright the reference model's eyes looked and wanted to see if I could create it in a way that's faster and more straightforward than what I'd been doing in my previous studies.

The bottom line is I want to gain speed and accuracy in my portraits, and the only way to get there is to practice, of course! Even if I only have a few hours a week to create art, I will keep going!

Reflection

As mentioned above, I used a reference for one of these 5, the other 4 came from my own previous experience learning how to draw eyes. I might be a little rusty lol, practice.

It's fun to play with colors and experiment to find a fun palette 🎨! I especially like how the reptilian or alien eye looks, turned out better than I'd envisioned. Somehow it took the least amount of time from start to finish, too.

Process

Now I didn't take step by step pics on these, considering I was making them as quickly as possible and I didn't plan out the individual steps πŸ˜….


26 minutes
1st practice, no reference used


20 minutes
2nd practice, no reference used


31 minutes
3rd practice, no reference used


45 minutes
4th practice
Reference


15 minutes
5th practice, no reference used
(Clear winner)

Notes

●Reference

Videos used as study guide
●How I Draw Eyes on Procreate art by Ylanast #shorts
●Drawing face in Procreate #shorts

App: ibisPaint X


Thanks for reading and thanks for your support! Until next time,
SCAB