Drawing with Note 10+ - Limited Hue Coloring

in Sketchbook4 years ago (edited)


Faith in one hue.

Two days ago, I had some sort of epiphany.

In terms of digital painting, I always had problems with colors. Sometimes they get too rainbow-y and saturated, and there are times when my colors get too pale and, well, dead.

Then I came up with an idea. The MediBang Paint for Android that I use in my digital drawings has HSV as color picker.

I thought that instead of going all over the place in terms of the hue (which is mainly my problem, I figured), I could just try and limit my hues to a few degrees, and adjust through the saturation and value levels to my heart's content.

When I started, it felt awkward. Heck, it felt wrong. I was meaning to record the drawing process, but I was disheartened. (You can read more about this in this post.) But I was surprised. In the end, the drawing actually turned out well!

So let me try again.

Not that I would want to go through the whole "hue wheel", but if the blue work was between hues of 0 and 30 degrees (red-ish), then this new one was 40 to 43 degrees (mainly 42 degrees) (orange-yellow-ish).

This meant that I was half-expecting the output to be kind of in sepia, and I think it turned out the way I was hoping it would. I mean, there were still a lot of things to improve on, but I love how I did the hair this time.


A digitization of one of my 2016 drawings.

Original sketch vs the digital

This wasn't the first time I digitized this work. You can see how I did the first time in here. At any rate, I was quite proud of that one, but the colors make me cringe. I don't know why!

This time, I made her open her eyes because she has also had some epiphany (LOL). She's no longer sleepy.

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • App: MediBang Paint for Android
  • Brushes:
    • Base colors: pen (100%), watercolor (40%)
    • Hair: pencil (100%)
    • Others: airbrush (37%), watercolor (40%), pencil (100%)


▶️ Watch on 3Speak | ▶️ 3Speak

Drawing with Note 10+

Not paid promotion! LMAO. But you can find my other Note 10+ drawings in my blog -- I wouldn't list them down here any longer as there had been quite a few from the past two weeks. It is my quest to improve my digital painting this year, the same way I challenged myself to improve my traditional darwings last 2017.



music is keshi's 2 soon instrumental by 르와RWA. listen to 2 soon by keshi on spotify. stan keshi.

Sort:  

great that was beautiful

thank you!

woooow <3 really beautiful portraits :D

hooray! thank you! :D

Love the sepia scheme, it's dreamy. Beautiful art.

I'm glad it turned out the way it did! Thank you!!!

Wow that is amazing! I am just a beginner in art but I love the work you did. It looks so realistic!

Thank you so much, @jaedaca! :)

You're welcome, I think the time you have spent on that was worth it! :)